Sittercity home

Looking for work as a special needs caregiver.

  • 17 years paid experience
  • Special Needs Caregiver in New York, NY 10025
  • 7 miles, will travel 4 mi

Meet Marcy

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

My name is Marcy, and I have various child care skills, having been a babysitter, tutor, au pair, early childhood teacher, and even a tutor of adults learning to read. I earned my BA in Early Childhood Education/British Literature at Hunter College, and was a classroom teacher for 9 years before having my own amazing child (who is off to college in the Fall.) I am a lifetime New Yorker who loves to explore the various foods, art, and traditions from around the world that New york gives us access to! I have experience with multiples and children with learning differences, and approach every child as an individual with unique qualities and their own personal styles. I like to use literature and art to help children express themselves and explore ideas. I think hands on experiences and learning by engaged discovery are the best ways to encourage lifetime learners. I Read more believe that children are inherently smart, and that they just don't always have the vocabulary to express all that they know. By being patient and listening, I seek to help them navigate and build on all the information they are exposed to. I enjoy cooking and providing early kitchen experiences as a ways of teaching math and science concepts. I am also happy to be around friendly pets. Safety is always my first priority when caring for children, and I believe modeling appropriate behavior and positive reinforcement are the best ways to encourage a child towards their healthy development and self esteem.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 11/28/2017

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Ratings & reviews

Marcy doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$30/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Early Childhood Education/ Literature

CUNY Hunter College


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Marcy's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now