Sittercity home

Looking for work as a special needs caregiver.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Special Needs Caregiver in New York, NY 10025
  • 4 miles, will travel 10 mi

Meet Amanda

  • Speaks Portuguese
  • Comfortable with pets

I am a native New Yorker, currently living on the UWS. I have a BFA from Marymount Manhattan College and I love doing improv and filming with my sketch comedy group. Since 2011, I have been a regular nanny and an on call babysitter for over fifty families. It is truly a passion of mine to work with children and it it the best way to spend my day while I pursue my acting career on the side. Most recently, I have a lot of experience with virtual school as I currently teach improv online with an afterschool program and work in a remote learning lab helping kids with their zoom classes and assignments. Over the years I have worked for various families with different ages, needs and responsibilities. I've been with many families for several years and watched the little 3-year-olds I once played dress up with grow to Read more be mini teenagers! For some families I came before the children woke up, served breakfast and got them dressed. I've handled chores and ran errands while the kids were in school, and picked them up and taken them to after school activities, or back home to do homework. I've cooked and served dinner for the entire family on a regular basis and love getting the kids involved in cooking with me! (Empanadas and sugar free keto recipes are my specialty!) Bedtime/naptime routines are a breeze for me and I love reading books and adding funny voices before bed. My favorite days are days off from school so we can explore the city! I find fun free activities happening or even just venture to museums, zoos or for a bike ride in Central Park. Arts and crafts is one of my favorite things to do. I try to come up with ways to use non traditional craft items like cardboard boxes or scraps from another project. Kids bring so much joy to my day. I like to stay physically active so I would much rather run in a playground than sit behind a desk. Playing with kids all day and sparking their creativity leaves me feeling energized and excited to come in everyday. Working with kids has really shown me how much impact I can have on a child's life and what a wonderful feeling it is to be a part of a new family.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Amanda doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Down Syndrome
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Acting and Speech Pathology

Attended Marymount Manhattan College


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Portuguese

Share Amanda's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now