Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 26
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10026

Meet Spirit

  • Speaks French and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

I’ve always had a maternal instinct, although I haven’t always felt like I could lean into it professionally. This is because on a societal level there is a devaluation of women, which consequently means a devaluation of things associated with womanhood, including motherhood. In my family I was encouraged to go to the best schools in order to become a doctor or a lawyer—never a teacher or (gasp!) a nanny. But I have since learned the power in womanhood and the vitality of motherhood and mothering. I enjoy mothering—it feels like my gift to the world, which is why I’ve consistently sought out opportunities to do it. I have been tutoring children since I was fifteen. This past August, right before I turned twenty five, I left my last tutoring job to travel the world. That makes ten years of lessons and laughter, ten years of projects and joy. I’ve Read more tutored reading and writing skills, English speaking skills, led a fashion club, and conquered the homework blues. Now I’m hoping to expand into a more holistic role where I can form a relationship that goes deeper than school life. Ideally I’d like to find a family I can grow with and really get to know. Depth has always been important to me, and I understand that it takes time to understand a system, and what is a family unit but a tightly woven system? I work intuitively but also analytically: I observe through feeling, feelings which I then process into tangible thought. This way of being helps me intuit the needs of others and the needs of a given system. So I’m basically always asking myself: how can I help?

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Spirit doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities

Education

Musical Theatre Writing

Graduated New York University 2018

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French
    • Spanish

Share Spirit's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now