Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 2 years paid experience
  • Age 19
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10027
  • 3 miles, will travel 10 mi

Meet Karla

  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hello! I am currently a student at Columbia University in the City of New York and just got home for summer break. I am planning on majoring in Urban Studies and Education and would love to help parents take care of their children and navigating my communication skills with children. As the oldest daughter of two Mexican immigrants, I have learned to become a caregiver since a very young age when helping my mother look after my siblings, and my aunts by looking after my cousins. I do not have official training, but hope to expand my experience and learn for my future plans of becoming an educator! I can help child with learning Spanish and teaching them some Mexican cuisine! I can also talk to children about books that I have read and what it is like to go to Columbia! I also love makeup and would love to Read more have makeover days with children! My hobbies include community organizing, playing soccer, writing poems, and watching Netflix!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file


  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Karla doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$35/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Urban Studies and Education

Columbia University in the City of New York


Additional services

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Science
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Karla's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now