Sittercity home

Looking for work as a special needs caregiver.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Special Needs Caregiver in New York, NY 10025
  • 4 miles, will travel 5 mi

Meet Colleen

  • Special Education Certification
  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets

Hello! My name is Colleen. I have worked as teacher for 5 and a half years. I have been a babysitter for over 10 years. I also have experience with children with special needs. I am currently working as an elementary special education teacher. I also have previously volunteered as an assistant coach with the Special Olympics. I love doing arts and crafts with kids and I have a passion for the arts. I am not fluent in Spanish but I speak and understand it fairly well. In addition to working with kids, I also have experience with the elderly, having previously worked in a retirement center. Above all, I am a very friendly and upbeat person that loves working with people. Note: I am currently only available for part time work outside of school hours and summer work

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 06/05/2019

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported


  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Ratings & reviews

4.5 4.5 stars











Erin G.


Janet L.


We have used Colleen several times to sit for our girls, ages 7 and 9. She's prompt, reliable, has her own transportation, is easy to coordinate with, flexible, and takes good care of the kids. They are happy when they learn she is coming over!


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Muscular Dystrophy


Special Education

Graduated Fordham University 2022

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Colleen's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now