Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in Ozone Park, NY 11417

Meet Melissa

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I currently work for a local public school in queens as a paraprofessional which is basically a teachers assistant and have been doing so for 3 school years now. I help my coworker run the classroom, work directly with the students everyday. I’m currently assigned to the new 3K program and have taken care of these little ones since September with all of their needs such as serving them breakfast and lunch, diaper changing and even toilet training, comforting when needed, teaching them how to properly interact with other students and share, and learning how to be a little human with basic hygene/social skills/understanding physical boundaries/etc. I’m also going to graduate school after work and in the process of becoming a teacher and will be certified after finishing up my last few courses and certification exams by early next year. I absolutely love my job working with children and have Read more been blessed with the 3K program position where I get to work with the babies of our school every day. Prior to working for the DOE I’ve babysat my much younger cousins frequently for my family on multiple occasions along with neighborhood children growing up and now children of close friends. And fun fact I’m a huge Disney fanatic and still enjoy kids movies so I have an easy time relating to young children and keeping them entertained. I’m also an artist and love working on crafts, art time is my favorite period of the day with our students where we get to work on fun projects with them. Although I’m not a mother yet every child I work with I treat and respect as if they were my own and encourage them on a daily basis to be the best person they can be, no matter the age. It’s not a job for everyone and I’ve come to learn this after working with people who don’t seem to enjoy working with children as much as I do but I do know that I have an amazing job and felt this would be a great way to continue my experience and keep working by going back into babysitting. And the way I see it the famous expression is true, if you love your job you’ll never work a day in your life, and so far, going to my job working with children never feels like work, and I feel very lucky for that. I look forward to what each day will bring me, what I’ll learn new from/about my students and what positive experience will come from my day/what positive thing I’ll be able to do for a child each day.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Melissa doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs

Education

Education: Early Childhood (Birth-2nd Grade)

Touro College - New York

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Melissa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now