Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Peekskill, NY 10566

Meet Sara

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Sara and I live in Peekskill, NY. I am in my second semester at Lehman College attaining my Master's Degree in education. Professionally, I worked as a Teacher's Assistant at Pleasantville Middle School (in Westchester County.) At this job, I worked with 5th-8th grade students. I worked in special education, as well as in mainstream classrooms. In special education classrooms, I taught one to one lessons geared specifically for each child, so as to complement each student's own way of learning. I also created and lead entire lessons. I helped students in mainstream classes by assuring positive involvement in class activities and ensuring successful interactions with classmates. I assisted teachers, circulated the classroom assisting each of the students, taught lessons, graded many assignments, including homework and tests, and acted as a second teacher in the classroom. I am in graduate school at Lehman College to attain Read more my Master's Degree in Middle and High School Education. I do not have any children. I have been babysitting for the past 12 years and I have experience with children of all ages, ranging from infants to teenagers. I am very interactive with the children that I watch. I love the outdoors and I try to bring the kids outside to play and do activities as much as possible. I am a very experienced tutor and excel in the academic field. I always make sure that the children I watch are happy, and I prioritize the children's safety and needs. During the summers I am the pool director at a day camp in Westchester County (where I grew up) and I am in charge of the camp's entire swim program. I am a certified lifeguard, certified in CPR and first aid, and a lifeguard/junior lifeguard course instructor/certifier as well as a certified Water Safety Instructor through American Red Cross. From 2010-2012, I worked for the Walt Disney Company as a lifeguard at their water park, Typhoon Lagoon, in The Walt Disney World Resort in Florida. Before that, I worked for an organization called Nor-West Regional Special Services as a monitor and assistant for persons with disabilities. Thank you for your time and I hope to discuss a position with you! Sincerely, Sara

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before school care availability


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/4/16

Ratings & reviews

Sara doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$1-$10/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Middle and High School Education - With a Major in English, and Minor in History

Graduated CUNY Lehman College


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Sara's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now