Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Smithtown, NY 11787

Meet Karen

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a mom of two grown boys who are now adults and are independent and happy. I Love children and I would be an asset to your household by giving high quality care to your children. I am caring, trustworthy, very reliable, very responsible and most of all.... experienced with children. I give 110% of my attention to the children I care for. I am and always have been a NONSMOKER. . I am Pediatric CPR/First aid certified. I have a reliable car. I am Covid vaccinated as well as DTAP vaccinated. If I am watching your child he/she will have a great time. I will pay attention to your children. I love playing games, going outside to play with them. Read to them, and also help them in learning and keeping to a schedule as directed by Parents. Right now I am only accepting jobs on the weekends Read more until further notice. Thanks.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 11/30/2016

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 09/02/2015

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 12/06/2016

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/19/21

Ratings & reviews

4.9 4.9 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

6

1

0

0

0

Neda M.

5/29/2021

I temporarily needed help with my three year-old around the time my second child was born and we were lucky to find Karen. From the first encounter, I knew I could trust her. Karen is kind, patient and very experienced with children. She took great care of my daughter and the house and let me focus on the baby. She wasn't just baby sitting. She actually cared about us. She made suggestions to make improvements in my house/organizing the closets/ kitchen cabinets, etc... and I am very grateful to her. If you are looking for a caring, reliable and experienced babysitter, she is THE ONE.

Chelsea S.

4/19/2021

I am so happy my family found Karen. I have a 19month, 3-year-old, and a 6-year-old and I'm pregnant. So finding Karen was a blessing. Since Covid, we haven't really been socializing so I was worried about my youngest being around another person. The other sitters we tried, my 19-month-old would just cry for hours. But not with Karen. Karen was sweet, loving, fun, and all of my kids adore her. She is always on time, sends pictures throughout the day, and even helps me with chores around the house. It is super helpful. I would highly recommend her.

Marilyn O.

1/24/2019

Nomi W.

6/21/2016

We hired Karen to take care of our two boys (ages 1 and 6) about twice a week for several months in the fall (before we arranged for more full time care for the 1-year old). She has LOTS of energy which is key with active boys, asks a lot of important questions about MY preferences for their care, and always keeps me up-to-date on how they are doing (via text) which really puts my mind to ease. Karen is reliable and able to jump in in a pinch (we still call her sometimes when our full time person is out). She keeps the boys actively engaged, respects my rules around food and screen time, and in general is just a good person. I would not hesitate to recommend her.

Victoria R.

5/12/2016

We needed back up care while our regular nanny was out. We were nervous about the prospect of finding someone last minute. Not only was Karen great to work with, she agreed to meet us before hand to put our minds at ease. Karen easily adapted to our son's schedule and kept us updated with texts throughout the day. It is clear she takes nannying/babysitting very seriously. You can be sure your child will be safe and well cared for with her.

Michael S.

3/2/2015

I hired Karen to watch my son before and after school. I've gone through several babysitters most of whom have cancelled last minute or showed up late, but that was never an issue with Karen - she was always prompt (early actually) and she never cancelled. Additionally she is very nice and full of energy - she kept my boy very busy playing games inside and sports outside. I highly recommend her to anyone looking for a nice, normal, and dependable woman to care for your kids(s).

Jennifer P.

2/26/2015

Hello All!! I have been using Karen for my babysitting needs for the past 5 months and have no complaints . My 3 kids love her , she helps for either a couple hours or longer. One great thing is that Karen keeps my kids busy with the library or board games, Im always happy when the kids do more then play video games. Another quality that I like is that Karen will do light house work , any mother can appreciate a helping hand around the house :) Finally I know my kids are safe and Happy, Karen always reminds me that she is a mother and she treats my kids as her own.. Its hard to leave your kids with someone new , so its great to have her as an addition to my family. Ive grown very fond of her and Im glad to have her ....

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Graduated

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework

Share Karen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now