Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 1 year paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Babysitter in Syosset, NY 11791

Meet Andrea

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

- I not only enjoy caring for children's basic needs, but love fostering a creative, safe, and educational environment, whether playing alongside them with toys, talking with them about their school days, or tutoring them in homework help. It is amazing to see each child's unique personality and skills, as well as help them to grow in knowledge and self-confidence. - Since September 2016, I have volunteered as a co-teacher for a children's interactive learning program at C3 Church in Greenlawn, NY for an average of 13 children ranging from 3 - 12 years old (assist in leading group games, organizing skits, explaining Bible lessons, giving creative object lessons, and teaching arts & crafts projects; provide relevant worksheets, coloring pages, and colorful visuals; supervise outdoor play and games). - I volunteered for 2 years as a youth group helper (7th - 12th grades) and a Sunday School co-teacher for middle Read more school children at Long Island Alliance Church in Dix Hills, NY, facilitating group games for an average of 20 teenagers, leading group topic discussions and prompting thoughtful questions, and encouraging students in my Sunday School class to read, reflect, and brainstorm practical applications for lessons learned. - I have also volunteered as a camp counselor (Camp Comanche) for a group of 5 - 8 year old girls from an at-risk, inner-city background. I safely directed them to camp activities and assisted with morning and evening hygiene routines. During several other summers, I have helped organize songs, games, and crafts for local kids during mission trips to the Dominican Republic. - While self-employed, I have tutored 5 middle school students in reading, essay writing, and homework help, ensuring that they not only saw improvements in their grades, but also gained long-term self-confidence in completing assignments and learning English in imaginative ways. - I have babysat for 3 families with children ranging from 2, 4, 5, to 12 years old, while their parents are out or the Mom is working (i.e. reading books with them, playing various games, and serving meals). - In early November 2017, I started a part-time Assistant Teacher position at The Little Playhouse in Melville, NY, where I assist Head Teachers in caring, teaching, and distributing meals for an average of 8 - 13 children ranging from 2 - 4 years old.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Andrea doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Art History and Archaeology; English and American Literature

Graduated Columbia University in the City of New York 2015

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Andrea's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now