Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 40
  • Babysitter in Yonkers, NY 10705

Meet Silje Marie

  • Speaks Norwegian
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello Parents, My name is Silje and I am 36 years old. I have a bachelor in childhood education and an associate in Early Childhood Education. I am a certified elementary teacher. I have been caring for children since I was about 12 years old. Since then, I have been taking care of many children of all ages.   I was an Au Pair for 2 years, looking after three boys, age newborn, 4, and 9. Then I was a live-in nanny for 4 years, caring for two girls 9 and 11 years old and a boy, age 7. After that I was a mother’s helper/sitter/nanny for 2 children, newborn and 4 years old. While in school I was a mother’s helper for a family with two kids, 12 months and 3 year old. In addition, I have babysat for many families on occasions, both long and short terms. Some of my responsibilities Read more were dropping off/picking up from school, help with homework, drive them to activities/friends, feed them, indoor and outdoor activities (arts and craft, reading, dress up, board games, sports, etc), light housekeeping (children's laundry, empty dishwasher etc. ) With the newborn babies, I changed diapers, fed bottle/food, naps, bath time, put to bed for night, and everything else that involves babies. I enjoy playing soccer and like to be active. Some of the many activities I took the children to were the beach, theme parks, library, movies, museums, etc. I am the kind of person who gets on the floor and play and take part in children’s activities. I am a very easygoing person and responsible. I am trustworthy, honest and reliable. I am calm, caring, and fun but also know when to be firm and give safe boundaries. I put my family and friends very high and have a very good relationship with them all. I can provide you with excellent references. Look forward hearing from you. Thank you!!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/25/15

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Michael A.

8/22/2013

Silje did an excellent job taking care of our baby for a day in Westchester. It's very easy to communicate with her, and she has a cheerful disposition. She is clearly very experienced with babies, and our daughter responded well to her. We would certainly hire her again.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Elementary Education

Graduated Long Island University - C W Post Campus 2009

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Norwegian

Share Silje Marie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now