JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 37
  • Babysitter in Hubbard, OH 44425

Meet Kathleen

  • Comfortable with pets

Hi, my name is Kathleen Gerda and I go by Kat. I grew up in Hubbard Ohio but have lived in Pennslyvania. Throughout life I have always enjoyed working with kids of all ages. While I was in college in worked in a preschool starting at the infant level, then assisting in the preschool, and eventually having my own class with ages 3 and 4. I realized my passion was not only working with children but to work with those that had behavioral issues. I realized while working at the preschool alot of the workers either ignored children that acted out, tried to remove them from their room, or even to point of consistly punishing the children and outcasting them in activities. It would break my heart when I would see children punished so often knowing that they behaved a certain way because they needed something and didn't know how Read more to communitcate properly, were raised in a negative enviroment, or some trauma had occurred. So I changed my major from psychology to criminal justice and pursued my career. Once I graduated from colkege, I was hired at a Group Home in PA, and really didn't know what I was getting myself into because PA has a lot more programs and ways to help kids then Ohio does. The group home was for female juveniles between the ages of 12 to 21. The girls were sent there instead of going to jail. The program consisted of groups that taught coping skills, trauma, interpersonal skills, individual counseling, and involved treatment to eventually help the girls grow and become less aggressive, responsible, and independent females. Alot of people don't realize that children who are aggressive, break the laws, and very diviant usually had reasons. They just didn't decide to act out negatively. Some were raped or molested, most of the time by family members. Some were brought up in homes without food, parental guidance, parents as addicts, lived on the street, foster care, etc. Most were hurt and coped by becoming part of their enviroment. I continued to work with both behavioral and mentally challenged children for 14 years with all ages and both genders. Unfortunately, when you work in this field comes times when children are so aggressive the hurt others or themselves and a physical restraint is the only way to keep the children safe. It takes a toll on your body, and for me most of the children were bigger then me and I started having back issues. I am proud to say that the last position I held was Assistant Supervisor at Glade Run Lutheran Services in Zelienople, PA. They closed and know only work with autism but it was a great place for children needing a safe environment that was a step down from hospitalization or jail. I never much needed to initialize a restaint but mostly assisted when needed. I am very good at de-escalating situations. Each child is unique and no two should be treated the same. I feel that you build rapports with children, respect them, learn what they need, and help them learn. I also did TSS work on the side, working at various schools throughtout PA, working one-on one with children. I have also worked with both males and females in Prison and am certified in Drug and Alcohol assistant counseling. I miss working with kids alot and will always have a place in my heart for them. I have a 15 year old daughter that I have raised on my own since she was born. Now that she is getting older I look for extra work here and there for extra income. I would rather do something that I would do for free then some job that is just some job. I always will enjoy being with kids regardless if they are kids needing help or just kids that need someone around while their parents are away from them. I feel that most kids have always enjoyed me and usually look forward to spending time with me. I'm fun, very active, and just enjoy kids. They are so innocent and bring so much joy to the world. I believe they should have the best care when their parents need to work or run errands and I am a person who can be trusted with their loved ones. Besides my passion of working with children, I have always been an artistic person. I grew up break dancing, enjoy drawing and painting, and have completed paintings in public places. I love nature. I spend alot of time in the woods or lake. I'm patient and very empathetic. Right now, besides working at 40 hour a week job, I have the advantage to work a part time job and am looking for something that is with kids because I enjoy it and dont't dread being with kids everyday. They make my day and it's fun.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Ratings & reviews

Kathleen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Share Kathleen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now