Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Portland, OR 97206

Meet Shawna

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a nurturer at heart and adore children. I have been working with children for the last 5 years. I have a BA degree in Psychology and currently studying Holistic Nutrition. I'm enthusiastic to provide children with activities that work towards both their physical and social development. As a parent myself I understand how important it is to find the right person. I believe in teamwork and open communication. I bring my previous nanny experience and working with children ages 6m to 18yrs in various environments modeling patience, consistency, creative and imaginative play, and positive communication. *I am Aegis Certified/Trained -Specializes in non-violent crisis de-escalation and prevention techniques, *Enrolled with the Oregon Registry - Certified Step 10 T *The Oregon Center for Career Development in Childhood Care and Education Central Background Registry - # R356765 exp.12/4/2017 *Food Handlers/CPR certified SHAWNA ZELLER ______________________________________________________________________________ OBJECTIVE: Nanny – Nurture children and provide Read more them with activities that work towards both physical and mental development SKILLS SUMMARY • Functional knowledge of managing children from ages 0 months to 18 years • Hands on experience in assisting children of all ages with homework and other activities • In depth knowledge of meal preparation and feeding children • Adept with toddlers/preschool age age and ensuring that their core needs are filled SPECIAL CAPABILITIES • Patience • Consistency • Creative and Imaginative • Trustworthiness • Multitasking • Nurturing • Sense of Humor • Communication • Promote Independence PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE Nanny Share| *Private Family*Portland OR| Aug 2014– June 2015 • Prepared healthy meals and snacks the appropriate times • Encourage social interaction and providing stimulating learning environments of all kinds • Teach social graces and table manners • Place children down for naps • Play indoor and outdoor games with children •Took children on outings to Zoo, OMSI, Park, Aquarium, Fire Station, Children’s Theater Performances, Hiking, Gardening, Roller Skating • Tidy play areas and put away toys • Lead educational activities such as reading, puzzles and cognitive development activities • Wash dishes, children’s laundry, light housekeeping

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 11/30/2021

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 12/16/2019

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 11/30/2021

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/6/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

6

0

0

0

0

Emily L.

9/9/2019

Jimmy P.

8/21/2019

Shawna is WONDERFUL! We were looking for a last minute sitter and she calmly worked with us to make it happen. She’s consistent, reliable, punctual, an open and excellent communicator among other great qualities you want in a person caring for your children. She is always on my sons level, connected with him immediately with nurturing play, has no problem seeing his non-verbal cues and not only was my son at ease when I left.... I was too! She’s friendly, smiles a lot and has no problem cuddling our little guy when he’s grumpy or sleepy. My son loves her and we do too. As a parent herself she is a wealth of knowledge and experience for new parents such as ourselves. She’s very sweet and easy to talk to. We’d absolutely hire her again and again.

Emily L.

8/16/2019

Shawna immediately made me and my 2 year old feel comfortable! He took to her right away and had such a great time with him! She’s super experienced as a mom and as a caregiver that she has great ideas. I’d definitely hire her again and would recommend her highly!

Heather D.

2/15/2019

Shawna has been great with my 8 year old daughter! My daughter loves her. Shawna has always been very reliable, and professional. I would recommend her services to anyone needing child care!

Youngyoon H.

2/6/2019

Shawna started by helping us in the morning with drop offs of our two kids, and has been very reliable and professional. She’s also helped us with full day care on some weekend days and we’ve been very happy with her. My kids can be a handful but Shawna seems unflappable and firm when she needs to be but also fun and playful when she can. The kids always tell me that they had fun with her and occasionally ask for her if she hasn’t been by in a while. Highly recommended!

David J.

10/17/2018

Shawna watched my 2 years old daughter while I was auditioning in Portland. She responded very quickly to my request (I only contacted her a few days before) and made herself available right away. For the short time I got to know her and talk to her, she was very sweet, charismatic and my daughter was very comfortable with her right away. She seemed very caring and I will definitely contact her again when I go back to Portland. Thank you Shawna!

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Delayed Speech
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Shawna's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now