JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Babysitter in Portland, OR 97232

Meet Amy

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a 29 year old graduate of Michigan State University and I have extensive experience with childcare. I have been a full-time nanny three times; once when I was 18 for four kids, ages 4, 8, 10, and 12. After college, I was a nanny for three girls ages 4, 8, and 10. Most recently, I was a full time nanny for two wonderful girls ages 7 and 10. I have younger siblings whom I have babysat my entire life, and have been babysitting sporadically for families for 10 years. I love kids and I am very patient and responsible. In addition to my experience as a nanny, I have worked at a children theater with kids ages 5-12, and as a camp counselor at a sleep-away camp with kids ages 8-14. I have also worked as a mentor for middle school aged girls through a program called "It's Read more Great to Be a Girl!". As a mentor for that program I worked with groups of girls on dealing with issues such as body image, media literacy, and bullying. I also have extensive experience working with children of various needs. In addition to the camp mentioned above, I also worked at an overnight camp for children who have been recipients of organ transplants and have specific medical needs that prevent them from going to other camps. While working there, I gained valuable knowledge in caring for kids with specific and even life threatening medical situations. That experience led me to work for a summer at a home and school for children with severe physical and cognitive disabilities. Those experiences taught me valuable skills and gave me new resources for working with kids on communication and cognitive challenges. My general babysitting philosophy can essentially be boiled down to creativity. I love to come up with creative ways to have fun and learn. My degree is in the arts so I love to do art projects and really get kids excited about creating all kinds of things. I am also a huge advocate of playing outside and helping kids to be active and healthy. I have a full time job doing on-profit work but I am looking for families who need a date night or occasional weekend sitter!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Amy doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$25/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Diabetes
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Administering Medication
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Arts and Humanities

Graduated Michigan State University 2011

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Amy's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now