Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Babysitter in Portland, OR 97202

Meet Alexe

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi, I'm Alexe! I'm 27 and I moved to Portland from Chicago almost 4 years ago. I absolutely love it here, and the Pacific Northwest is definitely home to me now. I have been a professional nanny for six years now, since the week I graduated from college. I graduated with a degree in Spanish, and have managed to use exactly none of it, much to my family's chagrin. That being said, I've always been open to speaking Spanish to the child/children I'm nannying for, so please let me know if that's something you're interested in. Currently I nanny 3 to 5 days a week (a maximum of 25 hours/week) for two children ages 5 and 7. I've been with their family for a year and a half and absolutely love my job. However, they will both be in all-day elementary school starting fall and I am looking for another Read more part time job as a supplement. I have experience nannying for children ranging in age from 3 months to 8 years old, and I have nieces who are teenagers now so I'm comfortable with kids of literally all ages. I have the most experience with children who are between 6 months and 3 years old, but am more than happy to continue to expand my horizons. I currently live next door to my 2-year-old niece, so I have lots of interaction with young children on a daily basis. I do my best to incorporate my hobbies into childcare, because I find that it is a whole lot more interesting for kids if they are learning things their nannies care about! My hobbies include reading, music, any and all crafts, playing games, doing puzzles, photography, travel, and spending time in nature (a given in the PNW). This means that as a nanny, I spend lots of time reading books and making up stories, listening to/singing/making music, doing lots of drawing and coloring, making up and playing games, letting kids take photos and see what things look like from their perspective, going on field trips to parks, museums, etc, and taking nature walks and hikes. Also making chocolate chip cookies or homemade pizza on occasion :) I also understand and appreciate how much little ones need love and care, and I work hard to build a trusting relationship with every child I spend time with.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/10/17

Ratings & reviews

Alexe doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$22/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Education

Spanish; Chemistry and Biology

Graduated University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 2011

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Alexe's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now