Sittercity home Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 2 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Portland, OR 97224
  • 20 miles, will travel 15 mi

Meet Christina

  • Speaks Russian
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I might not be certified or have a huge resume showing how extensive my history is with babysitting, but one thing is certain - I do enjoy taking care of kids. I've watched my sister-inlaw's kids as well as few other children who needed help from SitterCity and we don't just sit in the same room - I try to be actively playing with them or showing them something they havent learned yet with their toys or outside. During play time, I encourage them to point out colors, numbers, letters and names of things around us as well as proper manners like "please", "thank you", "excuse me" and "you're welcome". Kids learn the most when they're 0-10 so that's prime learning time! I completely understand the importance of structure for a child, so you'd expect me to take occasional snack breaks. In the afternoon, I make sure they have their Read more lunch and are put to bed after a small short bedtime story! :) While waiting on them to wake up, I tend to find my cleaning self come out too, where I'd begin to tidy up the place, clean up the kitchen, etc. I do that anyway and think its important for a child to live in a tidy environment. Busy parents don't have time to do that, which is why the sitter can! My husband and I share a vehicle every day. If you dont live too far from the Hillsboro Public Library, we may be able to trade off the car when he has his graveyard work shift in the area, then reconnect after a day of babysitting your child(ren). So if you would need me to take them somewhere with my own vehicle, that would not be a problem. It would be ideal for us to be in the same zipcode, however I may be able to travel further based on how far. If you have pets, no need to worry because I do not have pet allergies. I own two cats of my own. At 26 years old, I dont have kids yet but am open to have some of my own when the time comes. Thats why I enjoy playing with other people's children in the meantime for my own practice of being a mommy! :)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 10/28/2020

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Tara F.

5/8/2011

Christina is wonderful. She is extremely flexible and always willing to help out. Christina has worked with us several times on short notice. She is punctual, neat, and communicates well. Christina is very patient and considerate when working with my 2 1/2 year old son. It can be a hard age to deal with but Christina handles like a pro. She sets limits and has a kind, gentle, and guiding manner. Whenever she is here, she recounts a day of play. My son has lots of energy and Christina will meet his energy level with a fun and positive attitude. They play ball, walk to the park, draw, dig in the yard, or read lots of books. My son is always excited to hear that she is coming.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$11-$15/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)

Education

Business

Graduated Western Oregon University

References

Additional services

  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework

Share Christina's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now