Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 33
  • Babysitter in Bensalem, PA 19020

Meet Marie

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi! My Name is Marie. I have nineteen years babysitting experience, and am thirty two years old. I love taking care of children of all ages and interacting with them, assisting them with using their manners, and also love helping school-age children with homework. In addition I also truly love caring for infants, as it is amazing to watch how their personalities expand on a daily basis! I have extensive training in the recognition, as well as treatment of life threatening injuries and illnesses in infants, children, and adults. I have wonderful references to give during an interview. I do not post my references on the internet because I would prefer to not have them receiving lots of phone calls before I even meet a family as a courtesy to them as it became problematic before. I am able to bring all certifications with me during an interview, and will Read more also provide my references' contact information. I also have current clear background checks from the FBI (with fingerprints) and the state of Pennsylvania, and have passed the requirements of Pennsylvania to obtain a child abuse history clearance in order to be approved to work around children in a school setting. As far as discipline in a caregiver capacity goes I believe in time-outs, or time-outs for toys. I also strongly believe in positive reinforcement (sticker chart with prize at end of week, pick of dinner or activity etc) I like to try and mimic the parents' way of doing things as best as possible to keep structure in childrens lives, and also try and cater to the activities the specific child likes most (after any room-cleaning/homework if any they’re required to do is done). I currently have my ground medic (EMT-I) certification as well as a Sport Safety Certification, which is more focused on orthopedic type injuries.I also have recieved advanced ITLS (International Trauma Life Support certification), as well as PALS certification (Pediatric Advanced Life Support), and ACLS certification (Advanced Cardiac Life Support). I am also CPR for the healthcare provider certified for all age groups. I have a six year old son as well as an infant daughter and am currently a stay at home mom. I am highly involved in my sons school as a teacher aide as the school needs. I am currently looking for occasional date night and weekend sitting positions where my children will stay home with my husband. I accept cash, credit cards via the square app, and also accept checks after day one.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/27/16

Ratings & reviews

4.7 4.7 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

13

0

0

0

1

Kristen V.

4/1/2009

Marie, Mariah has asked for you to come back! This is high praise from a child who doesn't generally like people she hasn't met before! I hope you'll consider watching the whole gang for me occasionally. Best wishes, Kristen V.

Janet S.

10/20/2008

Marie came over during the afternoon while I had a doctor's appointment and was here with the boys for 2 hours. She played with them and fed them some pizza for dinner. They both were having a great time with her when I got home and my oldest son (5.5 years old) said he wished she could have stayed longer cause he was having so much fun with her :) We'll certainly keep her contact info for the next time we need a sitter!!

Kitty D.

7/15/2008

Very polite, attentive, and great with my children.

Christie C.

2/20/2008

About 18 months ago, Marie watched my infant daughter during the day while I job-hunted and ran errands. We were very pleased with her service and she sat for us a couple times on evenings and weekends after that. We think she's fabulous and would like to have her help us again with our second daughter.

Heather M.

2/19/2008

Marie seemed like a great match for our family but unfortunately we never got to meet her since she didn't show up for our scheduled appointment. I see now it could be due to her injury, but a phone call/email would've been appreciated.

Penelope P.

2/1/2008

Marie is wonderful! I know that my children are safe and well cared for when she is watching them.

Joanna B.

11/3/2007

Marie was great with my kids. They woke me up in the morning asking when she was coming back.

Kerri W.

9/29/2007

Marie was excellent, my son warmed up to her right away, we were very comfortable with her and she was very friendly and relaxed.

Meghan C.

6/28/2007

I'd have to agree that 5 stars aren't enough. Marie is always on time and is extremely caring with our children. She constantly thinks on her feet and needs very little direction.

Amy R.

4/24/2007

Marie is so good with our daughter. She's responsible and friendly and always on time (if not early!). I highly recommend her!

Matthew H.

3/11/2007

Marie was an excellent sitter for our infant. She was responsible and very caring. Highly recommended !

Andrea K.

2/26/2007

Marie sat for us one Sunday evening. She was on time and very professional. She even took this job on short notice after working all day. She's a keeper!

Lauren O.

2/4/2007

Marie is the best sitter you could hope for! She has babysat for my infant daughter since she was only a few weeks old. Marie is always on time (early, actually!), always has a smile on her face and is very easy-going. Even though my daughter has limited needs right now (bottles and diapers, mostly), I have been extremely pleased with the tender care Marie has provided her. Marie is extremely bright and trustworthy. On top of that, she has a friendly personality and a good sense of humor that makes her a great fit for my family. You can't ask for a better sitter than her--five stars aren't enough! Make that 100!!

Anne M.

12/16/2006

Marie sat for our "older" kids, 9 and 12, last night. She was punctual, responsible, and great with the kids- they loved her! We will definitely call again!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $0 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Hydrocephaly
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Administration of Justice, as well as Emergency He

Attended George Mason University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Marie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now