JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 11 years paid experience
  • Age 51
  • Babysitter in Carlisle, PA 17013

Meet Elizabeth

  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Many years ago I was told that each person has been given a special gift or talent. For many people, identifying that gift or talent isn't always easy. For me, I knew without question that my gift was working with children. As a young teenager, I spent much of my time babysitting, being around young children. It was a great way for a young girl to earn money, but it was also a way for me to discover my true passion in life, working with children. I'm no longer a young teenager, but at 51 years old, my love for working with children has never wavered or diminished and remains a true joy for me. I received a Bachelors of Science degree in Special Education in 1989, with a concentration in Learning Disabilities and Behavior Disorders. After being in the classroom for a number of years, I decided to spend Read more my time focusing on my own family. I have four children (ages 23 to 16) that are truly my greatest accomplishment. My husband recently retired from the Army after 30 years. During his time in the military, our family has made a total of 14 moves across the United States and Europe. With our frequent moves, multiple deployments for my husband and having a young family, I decided to wait until the timing was right for me to return to work. As a stay at home mom, I greatly enjoyed being a hands on volunteer within my children's classrooms and an active supporter of many of the wonderful programs for our military families. As my children got older, I was able to get back into the workforce wherever we were stationed, always finding a position that allowed me to follow my passion of working with children. Some of the positions I've held in recent years include a Program Instructor for Military Child Education Coalition, a nanny for two young children whose parents were dual military (one being deployed), a Classroom Aide for middle school students with special needs and a Service Coordinator for a local agency assisting children placed in foster care. My experiences certainly are diverse, but the one constant that remains is whatever job opportunity I seek out, it will always be one that allows me the opportunity to work with children.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings and late nights
  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Ratings & reviews

Elizabeth doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$15/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Special Education: Learning Disabilities and Behavior Disorders

Graduated Longwood University 1989

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Elizabeth's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now