Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 1 year paid experience
  • Age 33
  • Babysitter in Pittsburgh, PA 15210

Meet Jennifer

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I currently work as a full-time substitute teacher for Pittsburgh Public Schools. I am available as a full-time summer nanny starting June 13, 2017. I primarily work as a special education teacher with children with IEPs. I work at all different school levels throughout the district, from preschool age to high school seniors. I plan on going back to school to become certified in Special Education and obtain my Masters Degree in Psychology. Before obtaining my Bachelor's Degree in Business, I worked at a retirement home in the South Hills caring for, serving food for, cleaning for, and planning activities with seniors. I was also a volunteer at Hilltop Health Ministries Consortium's Elder Outreach Volunteer Program for a year, and found the experience very rewarding. I escorted clients to appointments and provided companionship as well. One of my main clients was blind, so I am comfortable leading and assisting the Read more blind. I volunteered with cancer patients at St. Clair Hospital Sipe Infusion Center. I feel I am a very empathetic and sensitive person. I am quiet, but I am a very good listener. I am peaceful, compassionate, nonjudgmental, honest, and kind. I am interested in providing care for children, the elderly, special needs clients, and animals. I worked with an adult stroke victim with bipolar disorder and addiction issues for four years full-time in her home . With much success, I was independently responsible for administering her general care and managing the facilitation of her independence/rehabilitation plan. I grew up the oldest of six children; Three of my siblings had special needs. I was my younger brother's caretaker for 10 years. He had Autism, profound retardation, Epilepsy and ADHD. I also assisted with my youngest brother, who has Asperger's Syndrome, as well as my sister, who has Bipolar Disorder, & Oppositional Defiant Disorder. I have a musical theater background. I am a Disney Princess Birthday Party performer/impersonator. I would love to use my performing arts background & creativity as a communication & learning tool for the children I care for. Along with caring for people, I am the epitome of an animal lover. I worked at PetCo the summer of 2016 as a dog bather. I received excellent reviews from my supervisor and peers at this position. I aspire to one day work for a handler as a show groomer and become an Internationally Certified Master Groomer. I am happy to provide my resume & references available upon request.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/30/18

Ratings & reviews

Jennifer doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$11-$15/hr for the first child, $4 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Epilepsy
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Business

Graduated Seton Hill University 2011

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Jennifer's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now