JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Age 20
  • Babysitter in Pittsburgh, PA 15217

Meet Melanie

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I'm a student at the University of Pittsburgh majoring in film and art history. Postgrad, I intend on acquiring a teaching degree. Being the oldest of three kids, I was trusted from a young age to watch my brother and sister while my parents were at work. From taking them to sporting/music lessons, cooking meals, or just helping with homework, I did it all. I'd be more comfortable with elementary or middle school aged kids, simply because I can offer more service. I have a ton of interests. I've played multiple sports (softball, basketball, golf, soccer, lacrosse, to name a few), I'm skilled at piano, drums, and guitar. I also participated in theater for pretty much my whole life. I'm an exceptional student and can provide tutoring in all subjects. Specifically reading and writing is my specialty. Furthermore, I stand by the motto that life is for learning. Whatever it Read more may be that your child is interested in I want to help them pursue their whimsy. Even if they might not be completely into a topic, I seek to find an angle that will improve interest. On top of that, I grew up with an incredibly busy lifestyle (sports, music lessons, homework, theater) I understand the organization and commitment that these activities require. I can stick to a schedule with ease. Aside from academics and life, I'd describe myself as fun-loving. For whatever reason, I still retain a lot of childlike silliness and love to laugh and be creative. I'm optimistic and find joy in almost everything I do. Cooking-wise, I'm no iron chef but I have a few recipes up my sleeve. I also understand how tough allergies or general dietary restrictions can be, I have a few myself. I'll happily prepare snacks and meals to satisfy those needs. Also, I have experience with administering epi-pen and the protocol involving allergies and asthma. Even if you need help cleaning around the house and taking care of pets, it's no problem. I dog-sat throughout high school and owned cats. Cleaning is just part of life (not the best part but it needs to get done). If you have any housekeeping needs I will happily serve. As far as qualifications go: I would have to get recertified however, in the past I did complete CPR training. I am a strong swimmer, and I completed basic water rescue as well as junior lifeguarding.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Melanie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for children per sitting

$9-$20/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Film & The History of Art and Architecture

Currently attending University of Pittsburgh - Main Campus

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Melanie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now