JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 62
  • Babysitter in Stroudsburg, PA 18360

Meet Michelle

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My husband and I re-located to the area in 2012 from Florida to be closer to family. We are both retired but I find that I need a purpose in life, somewhere to go, something to do...... I thought a part-time position caring for children would be a great idea! I am flexible, friendly and patient and I have been offering my services on this site for nearly 5 years now. It has given me the opportunity to meet some really wonderful people. I'm told I bake the world's best brownies and what child doesn't love those!! Helping out with homework, playing outside, taking the dog for a walk, all sound like a great way to spend an afternoon.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 2/1/19

Ratings & reviews

4.4 4.4 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

6

0

0

0

1

Julien G.

5/29/2019

Michelle was very accommodating and worked well with our children ages 5-14. She was on time and did a good job of both being fun and setting good boundaries. I highly recommend her.

Andrea V.

10/4/2018

Andrea V.

9/24/2018

Brian K.

12/9/2017

Michelle has been walking my dog, Buddy, and checking in on my four cats for a few months now and she has exceeded all my expectations for both a dog walker and as a human being! Michelle consistently helps me out with Buddy when my schedule changes on short notice, making sure Buddy gets walks whenever needed. She stays in touch with me to give me updates and has given me a much needed peace of mind when I am away. Being new to the area, Michelle has also been a wealth of information for me, suggesting contractors, places to eat, etc. She is so much more than a dog walker. She is a tremendous human being. She has even left me with a delicious soup in my fridge from time to time! :) Buddy and myself highly recommend Michelle's services!

Jessica D.

9/28/2017

Michelle has been our every day afterschool sitter for nearly 4 years now. She has never, NOT EVEN ONE TIME, called off or missed a day at the last minute. She is fantastic with my boys, one of whom has special needs, and is an integral part of the functioning of our family. Her demeanor, flexibility, and willingness to help out have saved me on countless snow days, two hour delays, sick kid days, etc. Michelle goes the extra mile to make sure my boys are safe, happy, and healthy. She takes care of homework, picks up from school so they can participate in extracurricular activities, comes in for the occasional "crack of dawn" early morning when I have meetings, takes them on outings, you name it, she does it for my guys. I can't recommend Michelle highly enough, and can't tell you how lucky we are to have her.

Liz R.

9/28/2017

First off, let me respond to the one review that a couple decided to post after they had a negative experience while visiting the area. Please do not take this review into account when thinking of Michelle for a job! They don't even live here and they never even met her. We have been using Michelle as our regular babysitter for over 2 years now and we couldn't be happier! She cares for our 2 daughters who are aged 7 and 4. My girls get so excited when we tell them Miss Michelle is coming to watch them. She does it all! She will make them dinner, play with them, read them stories and put them to bed. What I like most about her is she engages with them instead of just watching them. She will take them outside to play if the weather is nice or they will play games together if they are inside the house. Most importantly, Michelle is extremely reliable! She always arrives ON TIME and has never been late for us. If anything, she arrives early sometimes. She has her own mode of transportation which is helpful. You will not be disappointed! We have been so fortunate with our decision to hire Michelle as our babysitter.

Courtneylynne S.

3/18/2017

Claimed she was lost. Pretty much ruined our vacation! I had other sitters apply and I went with Michelle because of her resume on the site.... do not book!!!!! Your night will be ruined!

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$12-$14/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Grooming and Hygiene

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Michelle's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now