Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 25 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Arlington, TN 38002

Meet Denise

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I graduated from UNC in 2005 with a degree in philosophy and psychology, and I have taken many child development classes. I'm interested in the environment and working with kids. I have been baby-sitting regularly for 25 years. I am willing to provide references upon request but would prefer not to post any online.  I was a preschool teacher and have worked with children of all ages, but primarily with ages 1-5.  I like cooking and craft activities and enjoy being outside.  I have done overnight baby-sitting and traveled with families.  I am willing to baby-sit for large families or two families together - I am used to working with a group of six at school and enjoy working with larger groups of children.  I currently work full time as a nanny but am available in the evenings, weekends, and for overnights for baby-sitting.  I am also available to transport Read more your child from your home to your child's school.  I enjoy seeing children learn and show passion in whatever is interesting to them.  I love watching children grow and figure things out - it's so exciting to me to see a child who was struggling with something conquer it!  I love to hear a child tell me all about something that is interesting to them.  I believe that adults learn from children as much as children learn from adults, and I look forward to opportunities to learn from your kids. I am comfortable with all kinds of pets and don't mind doing pet care while I'm baby-sitting. I am also an experienced pet-sitter.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 08/23/2019

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/21/16

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Lyn M.


Denny cared for our 2 year-old daughter with a lot of attention and eased our minds about hiring a sitter. She didn't turn on the TV once, which I really appreciated! She arrived on time and as an added bonus, gave our cat some loving snuggles :) Highly recommend!

Katie P.


We love Denny! She is calm and reliable. Completely unflappable. The greatest!

Kim C.



Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Diabetes
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Visual Impairment
    • Insulin Injections
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


philosophy and psychology

Graduated University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 2005

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Denise's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now