Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 69
  • Babysitter in Austin, TX 78756

Meet Connie

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

HI Sure hope I can help some mom's out there. I have a B.S. in Child Development with an emphasis in Recreation Therapy. I have worked in education for years, specifically Special Education. As a paraprofessional I have experience with children who are on the 'spectrum' for autism, sensory integration, down syndrome, cerebral palsy, auditory/receptive language processing as well as other special needs. I'm also current in CPR/First Aid.. I am currently working with 2 elementary children after school. I take them to their various activities, make sure they have a snack and assist them with their homework.. The job is great and I'm currently available in the evening (after 6:00, possibly earlier, depending on where you are located). I would also be available during the day to help, preferably with children over 3 years of age. And then there's the occasional 'date night'... you can contact me for that, Read more too.. I am allergic to cats, but love dogs (as well as rescuing and re-homing many when I lived in the Caribbean).. My 2 dogs are 'two' of the many that I rescued. I have many references and can provide them to you.. Oh, and if you need tutoring, I love to do that. My daughter had some very mild learning challenges. I believe it's paramount to find out HOW a child learns (auditory, visual, etc) and then approach a lesson in that way.. I have unusual hobbies... collect puppets, took a class in college called 'clownology' and consider myself very creative.. Basically I love to have fun with children, yet I maintain a gentle disciplined approach... As a mom myself, I have found that the best way to teach a child manners is to 'model' them... I welcome hearing from the many moms out there. Oh, I can also send you a resume upon your request

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Connie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$12-$16/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Fragile X Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Respiratory Care
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)
    • Wilbarger Brushing Protocol

Education

Child Development

San Diego State University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Connie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now