Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Babysitter in Austin, TX 78747

Meet Lainie

  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Integrating nature and art into childcare has proved to be a beautiful way to encourage creativity, confidence, self-growth, and healthy choices. My approach when working with families revolves around open communication, gentle discipline, and positive encouragement. I have experience creating creative as well as academic curriculums if the children and parents enjoy a structured routine. I follow a positive parenting style and look up to figures such as Rebecca Eanes and John Holt for inspiration. I believe children benefit through play-based learning. Living healthfully and active is one of my greatest passions. I am a nature lover and plant-based foodie studying whole food nutrition. I’d love to help facilitate weekly meal plans and will cook and provide healthy food prep. I have worked in vegan commercial kitchens for numerous local businesses, vegan cheese making and also raw vegan pies! I also worked in a juice cart where I helped heal Read more people through creating healthy drinks and cleanse plans. I adore children, and have always possessed strong maternal instincts. Now as a mother of a beautiful 18 month old, I feel it even stronger! I am looking for a good long-term fit in which my daughter accompanying me would be preferred. I have experience caring for children from infancy to school age, and have additional years of experience working with special needs children. All of the families I have worked for have become an extension of who I am, and essentially have become family as well. I've remained connected to many of them; watching them grow and carry on pieces of what I've taught or encouraged is a beautiful unfolding. I aim to be a positive influence first and foremost. I have excellent references and would love to get to know you if you think we may be a good fit!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 04/09/2014.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings and afternoons
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 2/18/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

0

Jill W.

2/10/2015

If I could give 10 stars I would. Lainie was our nanny for about a year and the only reason she's not still our nanny is due to a move out of state. My children absolutely adore her and we truly consider her a part of our family now. My youngest was 1 when she started and he would not go to ANYONE outside of family. It took her less than 20 minutes to get him to warm up to her and he's loved her every since. She has a special gift with children that I noticed from the beginning. My son would run to the door with open arms each day when she arrived. She's extremely responsible, fun, creative, and dependable. I have 4 children and she handled everything like a pro. She kept me up to date on the events of the day letting me know of funny things the kids said, games they played, etc. Even though I couldn't be there with them I still felt very much apart of things. I hope the family that gets to have her as their nanny knows how lucky they are. They don't get better than Lainie!

Karl W.

12/13/2014

Lainie has been a great babysitter for our family. She has been very responsive and reliable. Also, she participates actively in whatever the kids are doing, and they got along very well with her. Highly recommended!

Lynn H.

1/23/2014

Lainie worked for us for more than a year, and would have been with us forever if it was up to me! She is conscientious and reliable, as well as fun and active...my daughter just adored her. She was always creative in coming up with activities to engage my daughter, which isn't always easy in our cold weather climate. My daughter is on the autism spectrum, and Lainie had great instincts with her. She worked with the consultant that runs a home therapy program for us and quickly picked up the programs and strategies that we have in place for her. She was a beloved caregiver and like family to us!

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$18/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Down Syndrome

Education

Human Development and Family Science

Currently attending Oregon State University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Lainie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now