Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Flower Mound, TX 75022

Meet Octavia

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Octavia and I like the consider myself a wounded healer. I'm 31 years old with no children of my own. Caring for children is not a job for me, it is my passion. I invest in their complete care; Mind body and soul. I love meeting positive role models such as parents and new families because I always take a little something back to my own. I learn new methods and perspectives and that makes me love my job that much more. I am great at communication and I hope to not just be your babysitter but a friend, team player and a part of your family. I have been caring for children professionally for over 12 years so I wear many hats. I am not just a certified nanny, I am a social worker, a tutor, a therapist, a mentor, and a house manager all Read more in one. I have worked with children in many different settings. I have done therapy and tutoring in schools, after school programs but most of my experience is caring for children in their homes. Which is my favorite because I am able to teach children the importance of responsibilities, independence, and self-sufficiency. I believe in responsibilities no matter the age. I am not a tv babysitter, I use screen time as an incentive when all things necessary are done. I am a fun babysitter but I am always firm. I am an educator so I believe that even play should be mutually enriching. I bring out the best in children and challenge them through creativity. I have experience with play and art therapy. Let me help your child learn skills like self-esteem, mindfulness, gratitude, anger management, and self-regulation, just to name a few. I have reliable transportation and I am also CPR/first aid certified. I have a few certificates from various social work trainings, such as teaching children emotional regulation and trauma-informed care. I'm patient, responsible and trustworthy. I have a lot to offer with great references to prove it! Thanks for your time, talk soon! **I am currently only available for date nights, weekends, evenings, overnights and travel positions.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 06/28/2016

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 08/07/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

0

Elizabeth C.

5/28/2021

Octavia is a very responsible and respectful childcare provider. She provided safe and attentive childcare and tutoring services.

Andrea R.

4/9/2019

Octavia, is an awesome sitter , she is super patient and fun. Mi kids love her. :)

Emily H.

4/2/2012

If you need a last minute babysitter she is AWESOME! We needed a last minute babysitter and Octavia responded to us letting us know she was available. When she says she is last minute she truly means it. We contacted her late at night and when she asked when we needed her we responded with now would be great and she was there immediately. It was my son’s first time having a babysitter and when we left he didn’t cry or fuss. She also stayed late (3am) and was really pleasant. I am grateful to have found her as a babysitter and we are looking forward to using her again.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Social work

Graduated Virginia Commonwealth University 2019

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Octavia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now