Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Houston, TX 77096

Meet Lori

  • Speaks English and French
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

BOOKING FOR NEW YEARS EVE NOW! I am a highly experienced current flu & COVID vaxxed/boosted child care professional with children from infancy through the teen years.A young-at-heart, energetic & healthy mature mother of 2 grown children, I am immediately available & looking for one time, part-time or occasional babysitting/nanny and/or tutoring positions.I am a retired lawyer who has had 4 extensive background checks, including FBI fingerprints.Recently, I had a basic background check on this site & shall share the full report upon request.I’ve never been in trouble with the law.I don’t smoke nor drink nor use illicit drugs.In addition to raising 2 children to successful adulthood (daughter earned her PhD & son pursuing his BS), I volunteered weekly at the Houston Area Woman's Center 140-bed shelter for 3.5 years (leaving in mid-2015), working with the children resident there.I taught both in its HISD elementary school (K-5) & after school Read more Enrichment Program (ages 3-17), working with children of all ages & backgrounds, including children with physical, psychological, &/or learning disabilities.I also babysat frequently during my teen years.I am kind, patient, loving, nurturing, attentive, honest, clean, & reliable & shall be respectful of your home & your rules.I know how to effectively, calmly & efficiently handle just about any type of emergency.I love children & use each opportunity for learning, fun & growth.I am familiar with the HISD elementary school system & homework requirements & am a patient, effective tutor.With my maturity, long experience in raising my own 2 children through every phase of growth & my long, broad experience babysitting, teaching & tutoring, I am fully confident that I possess the knowledge, love, patience, skills & fun loving but parental spirit that will be a comfort to you & a benefit to your child(ren).I have experience in all aspects of infant care including sleep training & potty training as well as a disciplined & organized method of getting homework done first, any Kumon homework next, providing snack &/or dinner, baths, dental care, chore completion & bedtime routines. Time permitting, I love to work on creative art projects that are both fun & educational as well as trips to the museums, zoo or park.I have my own reliable, fully insured car with a clean driving record, live in the Medical Center, & am happy to commute.I am available to meet at your convenience for an in-person interview.Full CPR/1st Aid trained.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 02/03/2022

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/28/21

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

0

Kenneth B.

12/9/2019

Nikki D.

6/12/2019

Matt K.

5/9/2017

A vacation window opened up for us rather quickly and we needed someone to look after Oliver (our feline friend of 14 months). Lori was able to step in on extremely short notice and become Oliver's friend and care giver in our absence. Without prompting she provided background and contact information for herself and family. She did everything promised to make Oliver feel like nothing had changed and even went above and beyond by watering the plants and making sure everything was in order. Another great perk we got with Lori were visit summaries providing details about Oliver, how he was doing, and what, if anything, was a miss during her visits. She made us feel very confident that Oliver was in good hands allowing us to focus on the vacation stuff! I most certainly will call upon her again. Thank you again for all attention and care of our Oliver. See you next time.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$16-$30/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Administering Medication
    • Injection Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Juris Doctor - dual licensed retired attorney

Graduated Tulane University 1994

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Lori's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now