JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 11 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in Mesquite, TX 75181

Meet Emma

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Emma Jochum and I’ve been a babysitter/nanny for over ten years now, ever since my kid brother joined the family. My early years looking after my brother, Jack, awoke in me this calling to be a caregiver. I’ve always had an affinity for not only watching kids, but playing with them. I genuinely enjoy spending time with them from coloring, to diaper changes, to “adventures on the high seas.” This led to many summers and after school jobs of babysitting and nanny-ing small humans from the ages of infant to preteen, in both small and large groups. As for my qualifications as a child caregiver, I have developed many skills over the years that help make the babysitting experience more fun and enjoyable for the children and the parents. I know how to cook and bake and I especially enjoy having the children help out in the Read more kitchen. I love to color and draw (I have a bachelor’s degree in Art) and I don’t mind passing on my knowledge. I have worked for families with infants and toddlers, so I know how to change diapers and negotiate bed and bath times. I have also spent several summers nannying preteens, ages 11-13, so I know how to deal with changing moods and wanting to go out and explore. As for a little bit about myself, as you should probably know more about me on a level past “Do I smoke?” and “Do I have my own car?” Incidentally, no, I don’t smoke and I do have my own car. I also don’t drink. I literally can’t because I’m allergic. I consider myself to be a huge nerd, not in the socially awkward sense, just in the liking nerdy things sense. I like comic book conventions and I’m obsessed with Disney. I enjoy knitting, painting, drawing, photography, movies, and reading. I love museums and Zoos, and going swimming. I played the piano as a child and the viola as an adult, both of which I still do when I get the opportunity. I am the child of a Lieutenant Colonel in the United States Army and moved around quite a bit before we settled in Dallas. I have recently moved to Chicago, where I have extended family, while I am applying for the Peace Corps. The programs I am applying to don’t leave until May or later so don’t worry, I’ll be here for a while. There isn’t much else that I can think of to say except that I am a responsible, caring adult who has plenty of experience working with children and I am looking forward to you and yours.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Emma doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$12-$20/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Studio Art with an emphasis in Painting and Drawing

Graduated Texas Tech University 2015

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Emma's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now