Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Babysitter in San Antonio, TX 78240

Meet Melissa

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi, I'm Melissa. I am a full time middle school teacher employed with NISD. Over the past six years I have taught Science, Social Studies, and Language Arts (math just isn't my thing!). I have also coached volleyball and track. I was a full time babysitter throughout college, and I have experience with all ages - newborns, toddlers, school - aged children, & teenagers. I am available to sit on week nights & weekends during the school year, and have pretty open availability during summer. Please message me if you're interested in a part time sitter during summer, or if you possibly need a driver for drop offs and/or pick ups for camps! I have my own Sea World & Fiesta Texas pass. Thanks for looking! -Melissa

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 10/09/2018.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/14/14

Ratings & reviews

4.8 4.8 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

5

1

0

0

0

Molly R.

8/7/2019

HIGHLY impressed with Melissa's ability to entertain my child! She is fantastic! Warm, kind, and extremely caring. She was on time, professional, and put us completely at ease. She consistently provided exciting activities for our 3 year old child. GREATLY satisfied with Melissa. Could NOT ask for a better experience with a babysitter.

Cindy H.

6/28/2011

I can't imagine not giving Melissa 5 stars! She was early to appointment. We spoke for 15 min or so while she engaged both children ages 22 months and 8 years. Her personality is infectious and upbeat! Melissa used words of praise immedietly towards my children. She sat on the floor and played with my son while she chatted with my daughter. It is obvious that she enjoys children. She kept my children entertained, happy, fed and on schedule. Before she left she gave me a report of what the children did while I was away. I was comfortable enough to leave my children with her after we spoke for a few minutes. She has excellent communication skills with both adults and children. She will certainly be a successful teacher!

Gina F.

9/14/2010

Melissa is amazing with my two boys. She sits for us twice a week while I'm in class, and they can't wait for her to get here. She is extremely responsible and has great communication with me.

Anthony G.

5/7/2010

We interviewed Melissa and just had a wonderful feeling about her. Our son and daughter took to her with no problem. We had her babysit our son for 3 hours, they went to park and had a blast, he didn't want her to leave. We will have Melissa babysit our kids again. T,J,L,L.

Ellen W.

4/9/2009

Melissa has babysat for my toddler twin boys for about 1 1/2 yrs. The boys love her. She is dependable, honest, full of energy, engaging, and enthusiastic. She has accompanied me on trips, as well as stayed overnight while my husband and I have been away. Melissa is a great babysitter and mother's helper. We love her!

Maria F.

2/15/2008

Melissa was great. My three girls took to her right away. She was polite and helpful. My eldest asked about her the next day. I would definitely ask her to sit for me again.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Early Childhood Education

Graduated 2011

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Melissa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now