Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Alexandria, VA 22310

Meet Rebecca

  • Speaks English, Sign Language, and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello everyone! My name is Rebecca and I am 19 years old. I am back in Newport News for my sophomore year of college and will not be working during the academic term. I hope our schedules can align next summer! My Basic Information is as follows: I focus on verbal communication with children, validating feelings, and breathing exercises when overwhelmed. I completely avoid timeouts, spanking/hitting, or any negative reinforcement. My guaranteed payment methods include cash, check, or zelle. I have 6 years paid experience. I would strongly prefer to remain in Alexandria for sitting opportunities. On the contrary, I do have my own, reliable transportation and can happily drive the kids to places such as the park, the zoo, or splash pad. I drive a Mazda Hatchback so it is a bit small but it fits 3 in back. I am more than comfortable with pets so bring on Read more the furry friends!! And finally, I am looking for something that provides me with a lot of independence with the children. For example, allowing me to craft weekly schedules of what I will be doing with the kids that week. Obviously you as parents will have ultimate say on what we CAN do, but I am looking for a family who is more easy going and comfortable with me taking the reigns during my work hours. Take care! (Edited 8/21/2021)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 08/11/2021

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/7/20

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

6

0

0

0

0

Matthew B.

8/15/2021

Rebecca has babysat for our 1yo twins a few times and she's great! They take awhile to warm up to people but she gets them smiling and giggling pretty quickly. She is very attentive and sends pictures throughout. She has also watched our 2 dogs on occasion and she is fabulous with them as well :)

Alisha T.

8/8/2021

Very punctual. Rebecca was easy to work with and very engaged with our 7 month old. She was able to follow a schedule and also be flexible our son's cues and needs. Definitely recommend working with Rebecca!

Ashley B.

8/3/2021

Our kids LOVE Rebecca. She keeps them engaged, enriches their lives with a host of activities and field trips, and makes sure that they feel safe and valued. Rebecca is also very responsible and punctual. Our only regret is that we don't get more of her!

Karissa G.

5/25/2021

Rebecca is amazing! My son took to her immediately and absolutely loves her. She did a great job with him and took care of lunch and picking up. I am so glad we found her, we will definitely keep working with her going forward for as long as we can!

Brittany T.

5/17/2021

We've had a great experience with Rebecca. She is very timely and responsive when we text/call her to set-up plans. She's easy to work with and plan out complicated kid schedules. She's wonderful with our kids and is very engaged and active while she's here. She is reliable and dependable and has been great for helping our daughter get to her various activities. She even got our 6 year old to clean up and made it fun instead of a struggle! We highly recommend her!

Jelean M.

7/15/2020

Pros - Rebecca is punctual. Easy to work with . Communicates well and is very patient with the children. She has never potty trained before but she took initiative and has been consistent since. The boys love her and they have had good pleasant days with her. She watches all three-9, 6, & 2. She requires very little assistance. She created a schedule for the children and the activities are enriching. She has prepared a meal or two for the children when I couldn't provide instructions. She was flexible in her schedule and accommodations. She is very responsible and she carries herself in the direction of being successful in her future career. Cons - The children already love her and it is unfortunate that they will not be having her for long as she will be off to college.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Sign Language

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Rebecca's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now