Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Alexandria, VA 22308

Meet Carla

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Carla Kooij and I currently babysit for date-nights or on the weekends. I've been babysitting since 2010. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree from Goucher College, and am certified in First Aid and CPR for infants, children and adults. I enjoy caring for children of all ages, and I have babysat for many families, military and non-military, and/or families who come to town for a wedding or event, and I've stayed at the hotel with their children while they are at the event. I prepare meals for children, do light housekeeping, help with homework, read children stories, supervise bedtime routines, help with bathroom activities (toilet, brushing teeth, bathing). I love playing games with children too, inside or out. I have babysat up to four children at a time from 2 months to 17 years old. I have a bag of puppets I can bring (depending on Read more the age, and/or if you think your child/children will enjoy them). I’m a U.S. citizen and live in Alexandria, VA. I'm trustworthy, dependable, friendly and kind.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 07/14/2022

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 01/15/2023. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 05/17/2022

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

4

0

0

0

0

Matthew G.

5/22/2022

Carla was so sweet and nice! She was on time and even brought her puppet collection for our son to play with; which he just loved. She sent us pictures of him while we were out and was just a delight to have as our sitter. We would definitely recommend Carla for any of your sitter needs!

Eunice W.

11/28/2018

I was traveling to visit family for two weeks, and Carla took care of my three cats. One is 18 years old and the other two are adopted sisters who are three years plus. While away, I recieved pictures of my cats, and reports as to how they were doing. Carla would sit with my 18 year old and pet him for 20-30 minutes daily. And, then she would use the laser light to play with the younger cats. The cats were not traumatized by my absence because of the love and care they received. I would use Carla any time that I need to travel.

Darcy U.

2/20/2016

Carla was very responsive, on time, and took great care of our eight month old, including putting him to bed. Highly recommended.

Bethany O.

4/29/2012

Carla helped us with our two BIG dogs for over a week while on spring break. Before we left, we did a walk through a few times so she wouldn't skip a beat and she took notes. While on vacation, after the first couple initial calls, I knew our dogs were in good hands. I recommend Carla for your pet-sitting needs.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology/Art Therapy

Graduated Goucher College 1979

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Carla's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now