Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 18 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Arlington, VA 22202

Meet Cara

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Cara, and I have about 18 years of babysitting experience. I am an energetic, motivated, and educated professional seeking babysitting employment for either occasional or permanent opportunities. My starting rate is $25/hr based on years of professional experience. Although most families I have not provided reviews on my Sittercity profile, I have remained in contact with most of the families over the years and have strong references who can vouch that I’m consistent and have excellent time management. Currently, I’m not available Mondays - Fridays between 3:00 pm - 7:00 pm. RATES/FEES FAMILIES AGREE TO WHEN HIRING ME AS THEIR BABYSITTER: - Payment Method: Zelle or Cash (No checks) - Babysitting jobs at 3 or more hours per day starts at $25/hr - $40/hr - Babysitting jobs at no more than 2-hours per day is $60 - Babysitting jobs at no more than 1-hour per day is Read more $40 - Canceling on babysitter within less than 48 hours notice is $50, to provide the babysitter with compensation for time missed with working another babysitting job - Late fees: 5-minute grace period, after that you agree to pay at least $1/per minute - In-person meeting is $25 for travel expenses. (No required fee for phone/video interviews). At the age of 13 years old I took a babysitting class and received a certification in babysitting and CPR/First Aid. Between my middle school and high school years, I provided babysitting for family friends and people in the neighborhood. Usually, when the families had their date nights, because I was involved in several extracurricular activities at school. Then, when I was a full-time student studying Public Health, I held executive leadership positions, and worked part-time at a daycare (infants & toddler group). I tutored children professionally and worked as a College & Career Advisor. In DC, I assisted families with infant care, before and after care. Recently, people ask, "Why babysit?" 1. I am a natural caregiver 2. My entire career is based on support services There words to describe myself: Patient, organized, & dependable I’m fully vaccinated & boosted, CPR/AED/First Aid certified, and have stellar references. Families who wish to receive a more current updated background or vehicle check may submit a request through Sittercity. Otherwise, the babysitter will only pay for an update every 90 days. I look forward to meeting you and learning how I can assist your family's needs.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 08/10/2022

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 12/15/2022. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Completed 11/30/2022. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Available to start on 1/19/2023
  • My availability is valid through 2/28/23

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

6

0

0

0

0

Cherry M.

9/3/2022

Caroline C.

8/9/2022

Cara was great! She came by early to get the lay of the land and was sweet with our son. She got him to bed no trouble and was very personable.

Claire C.

3/25/2022

Sittercity Parent

9/29/2018

Racara is the best sitter we’ve had in awhile. She is super considerate/conscientious and asks so many questions. She’s super chill and likes to play games with the kids. She challenged our 8 year old to a game of Monopoly and claimed she was the best and won 90% of the time. He had none of that and totally showed her up. She was cool with it. Our kids liked her. That’s all that matters.

Kristin W.

4/28/2018

Nick C.

4/4/2018

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$25-$40/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Bachelor of Science in Public Health & MA in Intercultural Service & Management

Graduated 2018

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Cara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now