Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Arlington, VA 22202

Meet Marcela

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have 10 years of experience working with kids from different ages.. I speak Spanish and English fluently. I love to to work with kids and really enjoy to see them growing. I worked for a Montessori school as an assistant teacher. I can provide you excellent references. I am a CPR and First Aid Certified from American Red Cross.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 10/23/2018

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/22/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Danielle R.


Our children have accelerated in their growth and overall happiness with Marcela as our nanny. Marcela provides gentle yet clear communication and positive in her approach. Marcela has been a gift from the start, from the interview process and continuing, she has been professional and uses her strong education in child development and her Montessori method of education in shaping the structure of the day. It was important to us that we found someone who could match the rhythm of our family unit and Marcela easily slid into that role. She has continued to support their established schedule and helped them to grow socially by taking them to weekly play dates, regularly scheduled activities, and with positive encouragement to meet new friends at nearby parks. Marcela has a gentle approach, however the children know that she means what she says and is consistent with her follow through. I have grown as a parent by modeling Marcels approach with my children. She is our ‘Mary Poppins’ and we will always be attached to her as our favorite nanny.

Megan W.


Marcela has been the full-time nanny for our two children (ages 7 and 5) for the last six years. She started when our youngest was 2 months old. We are sad to let her go, but our kids are now in school full time. Marcela is a wonderful person and has been a part of our family for six years. She has helped raise both of our children from the infant stage, through the toddler stage, and into their elementary school years. She is patient, kind and caring. She also took the initiative to set up playdates and take the kids to the library, parks, story time, etc. She is very reliable and trustworthy. She was always on-time and rarely missed a day of work. We cannot say enough good things about Marcela. Our kids love her and will miss her.

Mark H.


Marcela Diaz worked for us for nearly 1 year taking care of our 2 ½ year-old son. My wife and I consider our choice of caregiver to be the most important decision in our life, and we could not have asked for a better partner. Words cannot capture the strength of our endorsement for Marcela as an employee, caregiver, and friend. We are relocating to the West coast, and the thought of leaving Marcela is the most painful element of this decision. We love Marcela like a family member; we trust her completely with the well-being of our son; and we will miss her dearly. I truly believe that our son’s development has accelerated because of Marcela, and that we are better parents for having known her. While Marcela’s strengths are numerous, I have listed several of those that stand out most. First of all, Marcela has a heart of gold and it shines through in all of her interactions with us. My son loves playing with Marcela and views her as an unwavering source of security. Marcela is an active caregiver, and constantly engages with Jack rather than simply watching over him. Marcela is also vigilant about safety. Whether it is exercising caution in the house, on the playground, or in the car, my son’s safety is always paramount. My wife and I never doubted that our son was safe with Marcela. Finally, Marcela is absolutely reliable and professional. She was never late, despite an early start at 7:45, and while sick days are certainly understandable, she never used one. She was also considerate in giving us several months of notice before taking vacation days. Once again, please consider this an unqualified endorsement of Marcela. We were privileged to have shared one year with her, and only wish that we could bring her with us to the West Coast. While everybody’s needs are different, if they are at all similar to ours, I encourage you to hire her before somebody else does. We cannot imagine a more loving and responsible caregiver, and we interviewed dozens. If you have any questions about Marcela, we would be happy to speak with you further. Please feel free to get in touch with us through Marcela. Sincerely, Mark & Katie

Nancy C.


Marcela is an excellent caregiver that I highly recommend. She has been caring for our 16 mo. son for almost a year and we couldn't be more pleased. She has a high energy level, always on time, willingly gives a report at the end of the day and our son loves her. Please feel free to contact me for a reference. We are giving up our Friday slot due to a change in my work schedule only. Nancy


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Graduated 2005


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Spanish

Share Marcela's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now