Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Burke, VA 22015

Meet Jennifer

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a stay-at-home mom to two wonderful boys looking for some part time work. My boys have both been in school full time for 9 years. I volunteered in school many times while they were younger, and for the past four years I have worked as an aftercare babysitter for pre-schoolers and elementary age students. My own kids are in secondary school, so I am familiar with middle schoolers and teens as well. I graduated from Salisbury University in MD in 1999 with a BA in English Lit (3. 75 GPA). I went on to work for a Naval Engineering firm as a Technical Writer/Software Tester until my first son was born. Being at home with my kids and working in the classrooms as a volunteer has made me realize how much I truly enjoy working with children. My older son has food allergies, and my younger son has Read more Sensory Processing Disorder. Patience, kindness, understanding, and a sense of humor are qualities I count on. I grew up in Maryland and have lived in the DC area my whole life. I am very close with my family. I have benefitted from being so near to them: always having their support and available child care. I know that, especially in this area, not everyone has that advantage. I would really like to help out a fellow mom who needs some time to run errands or just have some time to herself. Since my kids are older, I would also be interested in aftercare - especially in my own neighborhood. Obviously as an English Lit major, I very much enjoy reading. I believe that it is the foundation of learning. My kids are both avid and skilled readers. I also enjoy music and movies. My kids are both in chorus in school, and we have Movie Night every Friday. During breaks from school, I try to take them as much as I can on outings to museums, movies, and baseball games. I am not an athletic person, but I am a huge Nats fan. I am a very responsible and caring adult. My children are the most important people in my life, so I know the importance of good and trustworthy child care.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 08/23/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Completed 08/23/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported


  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Lindsey H.


Penny C.


Jennifer has all the characteristics a family would be looking for in a babysitter. She was always punctual and flexible with her schedule. She displayed a positive attitude and was very patient. The girls really enjoyed her and the creative games she would play. We would highly recommend her to any family.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


English Lit

Graduated Salisbury University 1999

Additional services

  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Jennifer's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now