Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Centreville, VA 20121

Meet Emily

  • Speaks Korean
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, My name is Emily, I'm 27 years old, and I’m Korean American. I have been a babysitter since I was in 8th grade for many different families, some of which I still stay in touch with who stayed in the area. Although the children I babysat have grown up, I still get contacted occasionally by parents to help with rides. I have been a substitute teacher with Fairfax County Public Schools since 2013 and I am pursuing a career in Special Education. I worked as an assistant teacher in 2014 at the Fairfax County Government’s Employees’ Child Care Center, where I administered routine care for infants, toddlers, and children up to five years of age and instructed them to make the best decisions. I facilitated positive social interaction among children to instill strong communication and teach them to resolve issues. I became a caregiver because I love children and Read more spending time with them. I have experience working with children in the general education setting, in addition to the special education setting. I frequently use positive reinforcement and ABA therapy when working with autistic students. I use William Glasser's Choice Theory to teach children to make right choices. It teaches them that they are in control of their own choices and their choices have consequences. I’m passionate about teaching and I aspire to bring out the best in children and foster them to become successful individuals who will contribute to society as good citizens. My vast experience in babysitting, child care, and working in elementary classrooms as a reading tutor, intern, and substitute teacher allow me to provide the best care and education. I have references upon request and I look forward to working with you! Thank you for your time. Kind regards, Emily

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 07/18/2019

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Available to start on 6/14/2019
  • My availability is valid through 8/11/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











John R.



Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$30-$35/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Early and Elementary Education

Attended Virginia Commonwealth University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English

Share Emily's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now