Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 40 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Chesapeake, VA 23320

Meet Deborah

  • Certified Nursing Assistant
  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

[Status Change - No Longer Available] Hi, my name is Deborah. I will be available by mid June due to military reassignment of current bosses. I am 66 years young. I have 30+ years of child care experience. I love children and have cared for them in several capacities since I was twelve yrs. old. I have worked long term and short for a variety of families. I returned to the Hampton Roads area to be around my Mom who is now 89. Though I am older, I love to have fun and do extra activities with children. I have a fun sense of humor. I am honest, flexible, responsible, and have an excellent work ethic.  I seldom, if ever, miss work. I taught school for eighteen years. I have been licensed by the State of OK as a CNA & an Activities/Social Services Director since 2014. I have always Read more cared for children/senior citizens nights, weekends, and long term for their families to go on trips. I do have an up to date resume and will provide additional references and letters of referral at the time of an interview. I do need to update my CPR and First Aid, but have been certified many times over the years. I appreciate your interest and look forward to speaking with you... Sincerely, Deborah

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Available to start on 6/21/2021
  • My availability is valid through 7/31/21

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Page M.


Deborah was wonderful! She always went above and beyond whatever was expected. Our entire family loves Deborah. She took such great care of both of our grandchildren. We were sad when she moved out of state, but happy for her all the same.

Julie S.


Deborah took great care of our pets while we were on vacation -- 3 dogs, 1 cat, 2 birds,a beta fish and two hermit crabs. The animals were all well cared and seemed happy & relaxed when we got home. Deborah even sent us a few text updates to let us know how they were doing while we were gone. We appreciated the convenience of having someone come to our home on a daily basis to care for the animals instead of boarding them or finding friends & family for such a big commitment. I highly recommend Deborah and plan on using her services again one day.

Sara D.


Miss Debbie is absolutely fantastic!!! She is so wonderful with my children. She reads books to them, sings to them and treats them as if they were her own. We are so blessed to have her as a sitter and we would definitely recommend her. She is honest and loving and I can not say enough good things about her.

Amy D.


Our family has had Miss Debbie full time from July- November 2010. As sad as we’ll be to see her go, it was always supposed to be a short job so I know there is another family out there that will benefit from having her in their lives! I don't want to be over the top to the point that it sounds false, but she has been an absolute blessing to our family. My husband had suffered a seizure and was unable to care for our children, (ages 9 mos, 20 mos, 4 yrs, & 6 yrs), drive them to school, or get himself to the doctor. She walked into a complicated situation with a happy smile and a flexible attitude. She drove to school, the grocery store, the doctor, the dentist, and helped us make sure the kids never missed Wednesday night church. There wasn't a thing she wasn't willing to do! She cared for our three children and another infant my husband had been babysitting prior to his medical problems. All of them adore her. She keeps them busy with age appropriate activities and enjoys staying busy. She keeps the house looking clean and straightened and I have never walked in after work when she doesn't have the house cleaner than it was when I left. She is easy to communicate with and wasn’t late or didn’t call in sick a single day the entire time she was with us! When she arrives each morning they're thrilled to see her and they run to the door yelling her name. That alone is the most telling review I can offer. She’ll definitely be back to stay with the kids for date night even after she is no longer full time for our family.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$12-$15/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Cancer
    • Cystic Fibrosis
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Premature Newborn
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


BS Christian Ed/Ed

Graduated Mid-America Christian University 1978


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Deborah's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now