Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 35 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Virginia Beach, VA 23455

Meet Beth

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi there!  I am a mom of 2 children, 21 and 18 and I am always looking for a few extra dollars to help out with college bills! I have lived in Virginia Beach for most of my life.  I have over 35 years of childcare experience including 6 full time summers, 4 years of teaching at a local day care, and years of working in my church nursery.  In college, I majored in Psychology and Early Childhood Education. I have been trained in CPR for over 30 years and I was a certified CPR & 1st Aid Instructor for over 6 years.  I have worked with multiples in the past as well as children with ADD/ADHD, Autism, Down Syndrome.  Also, my son has asthma, allergies, mild ADD, and Tourette's Syndrome and has had respiratory problems since he was 6 weeks old so I am well versed in dealing with a variety of issues. I am available Read more on Fridays & weekends, and weeknights after 6pm. I am open to overnight care at your home or mine as well.  I am a Virginia Beach school employee so when school is closed, I am usually available. Feel free to give me a call or text at 757.816.8360 and we can talk and I can provide you with many references!  

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 09/25/2018

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

6

0

0

0

0

Valerie D.

5/1/2013

Beth was excellent! She responded to a last minute babysitting job and was amazing! She was on time, prompt with responses... and best of all... great with my kids!

Stephanie P.

5/1/2012

I feel completely comfortable leaving my newborn with Beth. She is flexible and caring. I liked that as soon as she arrives she "gets to work" for lack of a better way of saying it. I don't really have to direct her to do certain things - she just takes over so I can get back to getting myself ready to go out. She has a very motherly way about her; my husband and I noticed right off the bat that she was very comfortable and confident as a caretaker.

Alison G.

5/12/2009

Beth was great! She babysat my two children who are 3 and 1. She also babysat my friend's infant at the same time. She did a great job with all three children. The children all enjoyed playing with her and I felt very comfortable when we left the house. I was very impressed by her knowledge of child-rearing and infant care. We will definitely use her again!

Jennifer F.

4/7/2008

I'm going to print out bumper stickers that say "I LOVE BETH". She is great! Very patient, kind and trustworthy.

Nancy S.

1/5/2008

Beth was warm and engaging with my 2 1/2 yr old and gave me a nicely detailed run-down of her time with my kids while I was gone. We're happy to have her coming back!

Doris L.

12/9/2007

Beth was wonderful!! Not only did she actually play with my 3 year old, she wrote down my 3 month old's schedule (diaper changes, feedings, sleep times). The next day, the 3 year old kept asking when "Miss Beth" was coming back to visit. I will definitely hire her again!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $0 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology / Education

Graduated Longwood University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Beth's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now