Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 13 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Babysitter in Burlington, VT 05401

Meet Alex

  • Speaks French and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi! My name is Alex. I've worked with children for many years in different capacities. I received my undergraduate degree in Environmental Science from UNC-Asheville, getting a license in high school science education, and completing community service in numerous schools in the Asheville area. During this time, I also tutored and mentored children as well as giving presentations about my travels and geology as a "Global Ambassador" with the university. I also served in the Peace Corps in Mali and Burkina Faso where, among other things, I sponsored several science camps for Burkinabe high school students, taught English, and participated in literacy and alphabetization courses for adult women. I moved to Vermont in 2017 for a graduate program in natural resources after living in DC where I worked for the US Forest Service International Programs (central Africa portfolio). I have recently returned to DC after finishing my Master's program in Read more Vermont and would love to do some sitting before starting a new job in the coming months! I speak French, Spanish and Bambara (a language spoken in many parts of west Africa). I can offer tutoring in science, math, language, and writing. My style working with children is to enjoy their company and active imaginations. I like to ask questions and give opportunities to explore their creativity. I like to bring some of my own books/ rock collection/ identification books and go poke around outside when we can.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Alex doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$17-$25/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Education

Natural Resources

University of Vermont 2019

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French

Share Alex's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now