Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in Seattle, WA 98115

Meet Hilary

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Hilary. I'm 26 years old and am moving back to Seattle after teaching abroad in Mumbai for the past two years where I teach 1st/2nd grade (for which I was a level lead, mentoring a team of 8 other teachers) as well as Middle School Drama (where I created an implemented a new curriculum). Before my time in Mumbai I did a year at University Child Development School where I was a resident teacher for 1st/2nd Grade. Previously I have worked for The Bush School, as an arts specialist and substitute teacher. In this next chapter of my life, I'm looking to continue to work with children, stepping out of the classroom by babysitting and tutoring, and opening up my schedule in order to focus on some artistic projects. I have extensive experience caring for infants through teenagers and can provide references for both babysitting and Read more teaching. I play guitar, some piano, and sing (if your child would like to learn guitar or take voice lessons I have experience with that as well!). I love doing arts and crafts, have taught drama professionally, and genuinely love spending time with kids. Throughout my time at NYU/Tisch I received extensive training in both performance as well as production aspects of theatre, instilling in me the practice to approach everything I do with a creative, patient, and passionate mentality. Additionally, through my work with the New York University Child and Adolescent Mental Health Studies program I was a student teacher at Bard High School Early College for a wellness class that spanned topics such as: stress management, sleep hygiene, effective coping skills, cognitive distortions, how to manage difficult conversations, and how to recognize and deal with risky situations. With the combination of my work in the arts and education alongside with my devotion for working individually with students to find their unique passions and learning styles, I believe that I create a fun and loving environment in which children feel happy and confident to be themselves and learn. Hope to hear from you soon!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Tiffany S.

6/29/2015

Hilary was fantastic to work with. Always timely, super energetic and fun with our 2.5 year old, and made great meals for him!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome

Education

Drama

Graduated New York University 2014

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Hilary's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now