Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Spokane, WA 99206

Meet Heather

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a recently retired professional with a Master's level education. I have experience working with special needs children. Proud mother of 2 adult daughters. Spent 9 years as a stay at home mother

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 11/14/2021

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 11/14/2021

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 11/13/2021

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

3.5 3.5 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

1

0

Jennifer H.

9/22/2021

We had the pleasure of having Heather help in our home (part-time) for six shifts. She was attentive and sweet to the baby, a self-motivated worker, and friendly. She was susceptible to negative emotion, often sharing personal life stories, but it didn’t usually hinder her work. She watched the baby and cleaned during naps, and would offer additional cleaning when finished (even creating tasks, at times). We reassured her to take her time, encouraged breaks, and thanked her often. We had no idea that she was unsatisfied until an emotional mid-shift departure. An hour into her seventh day, she sat us down to ask for more pay and less work. Frankly, it was an emotional outburst. Without pausing to let us speak, she delivered her speech and excused herself for the day; 1 hour into a 4 hour shift. She told us she had shared personal details about our family with other clients (uncomfortable), and decided to confront us for “taking advantage of her.” She was upset by her responsibilities and pay rate, even though they exactly matched the job posting she applied to. Heather had even noted that she was overqualified for the job during her interview, but that her life had changed direction recently and she was happy with the advertised rate. She knew that I am disabled and we were facing financial struggles. The requests she had were fair, but her approach was inappropriate, uncomfortable, and put us in a pickle...we had told her we were slammed with work that day, and her decision to leave resulted in my husband and I working past 9 PM! She left us no choice; especially with the subtle insults that she had slipped between her grievances. At first, she did great work...but reliability and stability are key in child care. Had she allowed us to speak, acted more professionally, and not stranded us mid-shift, it would not have been so odd that she fully expected to be welcomed back at higher pay and with less responsibilities.

Cari N.

8/26/2021

Heather is responsive and caring. We are excited to have her care for our child!

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Cancer
    • Down Syndrome
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Public Administration

Eastern Washington University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework

Share Heather's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now