JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Kimberly W.

Care Companion in Palm Springs, CA 92262.

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Palm Springs, CA

  • Age 60
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Kimberly was hired to assist my mother in law as a personal assistant and companion. In reality Kimberly acted ...

- Susan P.
Read all reviews

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Kimberly’s Bio

I have been working with seniors literally all of my life, starting as a teenager,  and recognize the powerful value of their continued contributions of knowledge and wisdom.  The most unfortunate aspect is that as their numbers grow smaller, seniors become more isolated.  Combining that with a medical illness or injury, ones recovery can be complicated. 
There are also times when a client may not be quite "ready" emotionally to accept assistance so MY initial mission is to establish rapport.  Honestly, I am basically a stranger who a client may view as being forced upon them depending on circumstances.  It will be my primary job to assure them that I am there to help them in their many functions throughout the day, and to make life quite a bit easier. 
It will also be a primary focus to get them out and reintroduced into society as debilitating illness or injury can compromise mobility, creating life-altering changes.  It will be my mission to keep them engaged. 
As having worked in the health care field for over twenty years, the first six were working with a genuine country doc who still made house calls long before "concierge" was ever attached to "medicine"...ha, ha, ha.   Needless to say, as "Dr. Woody" practiced medicine for over 50 years, the median age of his clients was pretty close to his 80+ years as well.  Any patient presenting that was in their 40s was considered a kid, and I was, well, just a baby in their eyes.
"Dr. D", who came to be one of the most respected physicians in the area, assumed Dr. Woody's practice upon his retirement at age 82.  The joke was that I came with the practice and they found me hanging out in the broom closet.   I worked alongside Dr. D for 11.5 years, first starting out performing all the Front Office operations. 
Within two years, I became a Certified Emergency Medical Technician which also included adult, child & infant CPR, as well as Intermediate & Advanced First Aid.  As I am no longer actively working in an emergency environment, I allowed my "certifications" to expire, but my EMT skills remain solid as I have followed the minor changes.  Because of my background in emergency medicine, I have never felt the need to acquire new certifications.
I also became a physician-trained Medical Assistant, and laboratory-trained Phlebotomist.  As a result of my extensive training, I was also the sole employee of the Weekend Emergency Clinic for approximately eight years.
After I left the private sector to become a stay-at-home mom, I created and presented educational and safety programs for toddler groups here in the Coachella Valley, one of which was picked up by the Riverside County Sheriff's Office.  More gratifying yet, was the Adopt-A-Grandparent program.  This was a life enrichment program with the seniors at ManorCare Skilled Nursing facility, and toddlers, meeting every other week, where all engaged in arts & crafts, music appreciation, song, and story time. 
The toddlers and seniors seemed to pair up naturally on their own, and many toddlers would visit their "grandparent" outside of the scheduled playtimes.  The merits of this program were well documented in the local news media, and surpassed any one's wildest dreams for success. 
My work ethic is above reproach.  I am punctual, and take my commitments very seriously.  I have reliable transportation that has a large door entry so any apparatus necessary for mobility will have easy access when we travel, yet most clients enjoy being transported in their own vehicle.  And of course, I am fully insured! 
And recently, I was a professional driver assigned to a Handicapped Equipped van for transport of wheelchair-bound clients.  With my life surrounded by seniors, I am cognizant of their special needs.  You must also know that I am a professional, and you will find me to be direct, open and honest. 
A few years back, my dearest of friends and neighbor literally became a central part of MY family.  Due to his advancing age, he was included in our evening dinner ritual, where I cooked the meal at home, and then we walked next door to spend a good part of the evening with "Mr. John". 
I transported him to medical appointments, social events with his buddies, and even spent an entire day with him in the emergency room passing the time swapping stories. With the advancement of his illness, he was allowed to remain in his residence until he was called home.  While there were some very tough days and nights, it was such an honor to be part of this great man's life. 
I live on a ranch with three horses, five dogs, a pot-bellied pig, and a bird.  All but one dog are rescues.  I also have a 17 year old son who is academically strong and a natural athlete.
Due to exposure to the negative effects of substance abuse through nursing, I  am a non-smoker. I may indulge in a single glass of wine about every three months, and have never even tried marijuana, or any other illegal substance.
My recent printout from the 'State of California, Department of Justice, Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information' is a single page where the findings reflect, "...there is no criminal history....on the above-named individual".
I have received but one point on my California DMV record in the last 10 years.
In addition to caring for my rescued animals, I am an active member of the Patriot Guard Riders - "Standing for those who stood for us!", a proud member of the American Legion Auxiliary, and work closely with the USO, honoring the men and women who keep me safe!
Please take a look at a recent 'SitterCity' review of my services.   I hope that this information has been comforting for you in your search, and please contact me if I can be of assistance.
Regards and best wishes!
Kimberly W.


Age Specific Experience

10 years paid experience

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Meal preparation

Availability & Job Preferences

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position


My availability is valid through 8/28/13

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Kimberly was hired to assist my mother in law as a personal assistant and companion. In reality Kimberly acted as a medical professional and assisted my mother in law during a personal crisis situation.

We found Kimberly to be extremely professional, enthusiastic, courteous and trustworthy. We have the utmost respect for her and find her to be extraordinarily tolerant, patient and caring in her dealings with my mother in law and our entire family. She dealt with a very difficult and stressful situation with tact and went above and beyond each day to ensure my mother in laws needs were met as well as managing other associated circumstances with common sense, grace and intelligence.

We are very thankful to have found Kimberly and have 100% confidence in her abilities. We have absolutely no reservations in recommending her services.

Dr. Weil

- Susan P.


Ramona R. is a reference for Kimberly W.

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "".

Jump to Top
Kimberly W.
Kimberly W.
Palm Springs, CA 92262

of age


years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now