JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Nanny in Oakland, CA 94612

Meet Kathleen

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I started working with youth in high school through various volunteer programs. I really loved working with children, in and out of the classroom, and continued to pursue childcare through out college. In college, I worked for a family as an after school child care provider for 3 years. I picked the two children up from school and got a snack ready and helped with their homework. Once homework was done we played games or did small projects. I would take them to the park or for out for a treat occasionally, too. I was also responsible for picking up the house, cooking dinner, and caring for the families two golden retrievers. I grew very close to the family and was sad to leave after college. I continued working with kids after college as a Camp Counselor for Galileo Learning Center. This is a wonderful organization focused on child centered Read more learning and project based learning. I loved the fun and engaging learning techniques they used! I worked with Galileo for two summers. Most recently, I worked as an after school instructor at Lincoln Elementary School in Oakland through AmeriCorps. The program had 160 students and I had my own class of 22 fourth graders. I created curriculum and lesson plans for Literacy (making reading and writing fun!), Nutrition, Creative Writing, and Team Building/Leadership workshops. The program focused on project based learning with emphasis on team work, interpersonal skills, creativity, and community engagement. I was trained in using Asset Based Language, working with English Language Learners, Project Based Learning, and Child Centered Learning. On top of all of this I also care for and am very close to my two small nieces (2yrs and 4yrs). I watch care for them by myself and am very comfortable working with newborns-toddler aged children as well as elementary and middle school aged kids. I am currently enrolled and taking classes at Merritt College in the Landscape and Horticulture Department. My goal is to become a Garden Educator or a Naturalist working with youth. I would like to continue working with children while I am in school for the environmental part of my goal.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/9/19

Ratings & reviews

Kathleen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Anthropology

Graduated Saint Mary's College of California 2012

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Kathleen's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.ccld.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now