JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Nanny in Greenwich, CT 06830

Meet Mia

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi there! My name is Mia and I would love to work for you and your family! I just graduated from the mental health counseling masters program at Columbia University and recently moved to CT from the city. I have a lot of experience working with children in different capacities (see below). When I moved to NYC a few years ago, I nannied for a family in Brooklyn (2 boys, ages 3 and 5) for about 10 months prior to the start of my graduate program. I picked the kids up from preschool, attended school events, took them to activities (I can provide a car if you have car seats), made dinner, did laundry, and occasionally got the kids ready for bed. I adhered to the 3-year-old's nap schedule and both children's TV restrictions. I engaged in active play, coordinated playdates, and organized outings (museum trips, doctors visits, dinners out). Read more I helped the mother with various errands if I had time (i.e. grocery shopping, target runs). I am seeking a part time job and have flexible availability. A little about my background: I am originally from Boston. I graduated magna cum laude from BU in 2013 with a degree in psychology. After graduating, I worked for two years on a public health study at Harvard with mothers and their kids (aged 10-14). As a research assistant, I took the kids through a litany of medical and psychological tests including bone density tests, body measurements, lung function tests (I am trained to administer Albuterol if necessary), structured interviews, and exercise tests, among others. I worked hard to keep the children happy and comfortable throughout the visit and tried to make it as fun as possible while getting the information we needed. There were 1600 moms and children in the study! It was a lot of fun working with different types of people and personalities. Often, the moms brought in younger kids or babies if they did not have child care. I usually watched the other child or baby while conducting testing, which was certainly hectic, but usually ended up being a lot of fun! While pursuing a degree in psychology at BU, I took numerous child psychology courses and completed an internship at The Castlebar School in London during my junior year. The Castlebar School was a primary school for children 2-14 with special needs. As a clinical psychology intern, I worked directly with teachers to tailor lesson plans to each child's needs. I would love the opportunity to work with your family!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Summer Position
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/22/18

Ratings & reviews

Mia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Mental Health Counseling

Graduated Columbia University in the City of New York 2018

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Mia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now