JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Basic Background Check

Carol B.

Nanny in Washington, DC 20007.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Washington, DC

  • Age 28
  • 9 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Today

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

Carol’s Bio

I was born and raised in Virginia. In December 2010 I graduated from the College of Charleston with a degree in Political Science and Communication Studies. Since finishing school, I have returned home to the Northern Virginia area in attempt to save money while I try to figure out what it is that I want to do with my life. While I do really like all things politics, children are my passion.  Having a sister 4 and a half years younger than me, I began my "career" as a babysitter early in life.  I then moved on to be a mother's helper to a couple neighborhood families.  Upon entering my teen years I began to babysit for a number of families in the area. I enjoyed being around children so much that I found myself seeking out volunteer opportunities to prolong my time spent "playing".  I volunteered in my church nursery (newborns to age 4); I taught First and Second grade Sunday School; I led an afterschool homework club for ESL students at a local middle school; I was a mentor through the Big Brothers, Big Sisters Program for two years.  I did all those things simply because I enjoyed them.  Being around children is a delight for someone my age.  They are so carefree and fun and it brings me right back to my pre-highschool/college days.  The summer after my freshman year of college, I was a nanny for 3 young boys.  It was one of the best summers of my life. My sophmore year of college, I worked as an afterschool teacher for 4-6 year olds at Charleston Catholic School.  In the summer and fall of 2008, I worked as a nursery helper and assisted with a Sunday school class each week at St. Michael's Episcopal Church. My final two years of college, I babysat for 4 local families on need-to-need basis. After graduating I had the opportunity to serve as a temporary live-in nanny for a wonderful family (met through Sittercity!) in Northern Virginia with 22 month old twins. This summer I lived in Key West and was able to babysit on occasion for a few families vacationing in the area (also contacted through Sittercity) and a co-worker's toddler. I can honestly say childcare is the only job I've had thus far in my life that I genuinely enjoy. It's the only job I've had that doesn't even feel like a job.  There's something so refreshing about being able to put away the stresses that come with being a 24 year old (yikes!) and instead go to the park, play dress up, kick a soccer ball and simply enjoy the little things in life.


Age Specific Experience

9 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Infant Care:

  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Available to start on 9/12/2016


My availability is valid through 12/4/16

  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping


Diane C. is a reference for Carol B.
Libba W. is a reference for Carol B.
Jump to Top
Carol B.
Carol B.
Washington, DC 20007

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now