JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Nanny in Newark, DE 19711

Meet Tanika

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have worked with children of all ages, I am most passionate about helping children, adults, and adolescents with developmental disabilities. I am going to school to become a special education teacher and i am currently working as a paraprofessional in the second highest ranked school district in Pennsylvania. in the past i have worked as a teacher's aide, a certified English tutor, and a homework helper. I have completed coursework in Early Childhood Education, and have experience working with children from birth to late teens. I now proudly work with a non verbal (non functional language skills) 8th grade boy with autism. I fell into this work two winters ago, when i took a temporary position working with an autistic non-verbal 6th grader. In the short 6 months that i worked with him, i convinced him to hold his own spoon and was working on teaching him to feed Read more himself. We were able to teach him to assist in changing his pull ups, and to participate in his classroom activities. i helped him learn to use his iPad to request items independently. His teachers were blown away with all i had done, as they had been attempting to teach him these things since elementary school. I realized then that i had found my calling/gift and went back to school. I got my associates degree in December 2018 and i am now waiting to hear back from the admissions offices of Towson University, and the University of Maryland special education degree programs. I love what i do. My current student is communicating more than he has in the past. He is using words like "no" more often and requesting food items by name. I find it most important to talk to him and treat him like your average 16 year old boy and he responds well to it. I've been taking care of younger and older individuals since i myself was a child. I volunteered and worked in assisted living facilities for seniors and adults with disabilities before i discovered my passion for working with children. I'm experienced in assisting in all areas of daily living, and i love to do it. Please feel free to send me a message with any questions or concerns. I look forward to further discussing my qualifications and my passion for a position caring for your children.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/27/18

Ratings & reviews

Tanika doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$12-$100/hr

  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

2017

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Tanika's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now