JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 53
  • Nanny in New Port Richey, FL 34652

Meet Karen

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am 51 year old single mother of three; ages 23, 21, and 17. I have been a babysitter/caregiver/nanny to children since I was 13 years old. Taking care of children has been and is a passion in my life since I was a teenager. Watching and helping children achieve milestones and new tasks is very rewarding, and a joy. When I see the looks on their faces when they do something for the first time is priceless. Besides raising my own children, I have worked consistently as a nanny for the past 7 years, before that I did occasional as needed child care. The reasons for leaving past positions were due to a mom deciding to stay at home and or moving. The family I am with right now the children will be starting school in August. I have also done child care at my home, but prefer to Read more do it from their house since they are familiar and comfortable in their own house. I can provided to and from school transportation, including "in case of emergency/sick" calls from school, and before and after-school care. I am a very loving, caring, and dependable person and treat every child as if they are my own, showing love and affection to all in my care. I can and will do learning activities, as well as fun activities with the children. Some of the things I do with them are story time, I am a big supporter of reading and I encourage my charges to read if they can. I do read a lot of books to them and with them, as well as recognizing and saying the alphabet and counting. We will have outside play either at home or going to playground, story time at local library is always fun, coloring or some sort of art project, supervised computer age appropriate games, movies/TV time, as well as free play. I change diapers frequently and also do toilet training when age appropriate or at parents' request. I am very good at getting babies and young children into a structured routine, but not a rigid one, you have to be flexible with little ones. I do not believe in spanking as a form of discipline, I use redirection or time out. Both parents and caregivers need to be on the same page with discipline and care so I like to know what you would like me to do in that regards as well as what you allow them to do or not do. I have experience with all ages from newborn to school age, and with twins. I look forward to the opportunity of becoming your child care provider.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 2/28/17

Ratings & reviews

Karen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$600-$700/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading

Share Karen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now