JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 20
  • Nanny in Iowa City, IA 52246

Meet Allison

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I’ve always had a passion for children and at a young age i couldn’t wait to be old enough to babysit. I took a babysitting/cpr training class with Red Cross when i was 12. Ever since then i have babysat for family friends whenever possible. i immediately started helping out in my church nursery which watched children age newborn to two years old. i always looked forward to getting take care of the kids every Sunday, and i especially loved the tiny babies. Over the summer of 2016 i nannied for two families every other day. The Morrissey family had 1 daughter age one which i watched for 5 hours 2 days a week. i did the basic duties, fed her, put her to bed for a nap, changed her and cleaned up as needed. The second family was the Goedken family with six and seven year old girls which Read more i babysat three days a week from 7am till whenever one of their parents got home, which was usually around 4pm. One of the days the older girl had dance class so i had to drive her there. They lived very close to a swimming pool that we went to often and I was responsible for always keeping a close eye on them. i also fed them breakfast and lunch and made sure they picked up their rooms. i enjoyed both families for different reasons and it was nice to have such an age difference to give me some experience with a range of ages. It was fun watching the one year old because she was very laid back and easy to please and she enjoyed going on walks in the stroller and playing in her kiddie pool, which i also enjoyed because it was nice to get outside during the nice summer days. The older girls were a blast to babysit, they were such sweet kids and always brought joy to my day every time i watched them. i don’t have any sisters so it was fun to get some girl time with them. Doing their hair, teaching them how to do small gymnastics tricks were always fun activities we enjoyed together. i love that kids usually have such a positive outlook on life and it always reminds me to enjoy the little moments. i graduated high school in 2017 and continued on to the University of Iowa to get a degree in teaching. After the first semester i decided I️ was unsure if I️ wanted to continue so i didn’t return for the next semester. i plan to take some time figuring out what I want to do before jumping back into school. It would be great to get some more child experience in while and I would enjoy it so much.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Available to start on 8/13/2018
  • My availability is valid through 10/25/18

Ratings & reviews

Allison doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$13-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Elementary Education

Attended University of Iowa

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math

Share Allison's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now