Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 35
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60625

Meet Janelle

  • Comfortable with pets

Out of all the jobs I have done, the ones where I work with children have been my favorite. I enjoy seeing their eyes light up and their smile when they learn something new or accomplish something. Seeing the world through a child's eyes brings new perspective and reminds us of what is important in life. I am currently a full time nanny for a 2 1/2 year old boy who I started taking care of when he was 4 months old. Seeing him grow and learn has been a true joy the past couple of years! He has some special needs and I have learned a lot from his therapists and hope to practice some things when I eventually have my own children. My time as a child care provider comes in various forms in a variety of contexts. From occasional babysitting for friends and family to substitute teaching, Read more drop in child care at the YMCA, and being a camp counselor, I have worked with children from ages 6 weeks to 17 years old. I taught a year of Outdoor Education and was always surprised by the amazing curiosity that the students had for the world around them. I have also worked with children in different cross-cultural environments. I have traveled to Baja Mexico, Nigeria and South African and had the privilege of meeting children who don't have a lot but they are so happy to be alive, no matter what their circumstances. I also was a teaching assistant for the Early Childhood Education program at World Relief in Chicago, where I worked with children of refugees and immigrants. I learned so much about other cultures and traditions by spending time with these children and their families. I am CPR/First Aid/AED Certified and have a valid drivers license. I have done professional development with literacy works and by taking an introduction course to Early Childhood Education. I am passionate about advocating for children's rights and that they are a vital part of society.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/8/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Kiley R.

2/10/2014

I felt very, very comfortable having her in my home with my son. She's got a great, warm personality and a genuine love for children. She was on time and very, very friendly. I will be calling her again soon for babysitting my little one!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$11-$15/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Physical Disabilities
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring

Education

Biology

Graduated Biola University 2007

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Janelle's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now