Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60626
  • 8 miles, will travel 10 mi

Meet Shannon

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi! I'm Shannon. :) When I first moved to the city almost a decade ago, I was a full time nanny for an amazing family for two years. I would not change a thing about the experience of getting to know their amazing son; it set the stage for my future career! While with my first nanny family, I went back to school. As a result, I could no longer be as flexible as the family needed, and so we had to part ways. While in school, I worked as a shift supervisor at Starbucks. Thankfully, I had the opportunity to babysit for several of my regular customers during this time, including one family in particular. I still babysit their two young sons on a regular basis, and love them to the moon and back! This family, as well as my original nanny family, introduced me to many of their Read more friends with children in Chicago. The children range in age from newborn, infants, toddlers, up to pre-school and elementary-aged kids. I have such a great network of families I continue to babysit regularly for! Next in my childcare career, I worked at The Nook daycare center. I was quickly promoted after 6 months to the Lead Teacher in the infant room. It was the best job I have ever had! I looked forward to going back to work on Monday morning, to building upon the bonds I formed with the babies in the center, and watching them grow. I trained to get my CDA certification in order to be the Lead Teacher, and I also have food safety, first aid and CPR certification. It broke my heart to leave this position for another financial opportunity as a nanny for two pre-school aged boys, but I have loved getting to know these boys and it has been a great experience! They eventually outgrew their need for a full time nanny, and then I joined a nanny share for two infants. For the last year and a half, I've gotten to know these amazing little ones and their families. The oldest baby went off to daycare, and now it's just one great little girl and I. :) I have a younger brother, 15 years old, and I love spending time with him and all of our cousins, who are closer in age to him than to me. I was there when he was born, and helping my mom to care for him when I was a teenager was incredibly influential on my life. I would love to get the chance to be a part of your little one's life. I consider it the most important job I'll ever have, and take each and every child under my care's safety, security, and well-being incredibly seriously. Thank you so much for reading!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired on 02/07/2019.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 1/2/19

Ratings & reviews

Shannon doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$16-$25/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism
    • Diabetes
    • Visual Impairment


Digital Cinema - Screenwriting

Graduated DePaul University 2013


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Shannon's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now