Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60640
  • 23 miles, will travel 10 mi

Meet Nadia

  • Speaks Sign Language
  • Comfortable with pets

I grew up in a big family (9 kids total!) so I've always been around children and always loved it. I really started working with them when I was 12 by babysitting and taking care of my newborn niece and 4 years later my nephew. I continued to do that and volunteer at day cares throughout my teens. When I started college, I became a camp counselor for the YMCA from May 2011- August 2014. At the Y, I worked with children ages 5-14 from all different backgrounds and planned and implemented daily activities. While away at college I took many educational courses and minored in Children Studies. I studied American Sign Language for 2 years and know basic communication with the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. From there I was certified as a Mental Health Professional and worked at The Baby Fold, which is a residential mental health treatment Read more program for children ages three through thirteen with a variety of severe and complex mental health problems who need intensive supervision and treatment 24 hours a day. After that experience, I moved back home for a couple months and began my next experience as a nanny for 3 kids ages 5, 6, and 9. I've spent all summer with them taking them on fun and educational trips, working on sight word, creating science experiments. I moved to Chicago at the end of the summer and began my next chapter as a preschool teacher at Rainforest Learning Center. There I was a lead teacher for toddlers 2-3 primarily. I was able to also work with children from 6 weeks to 6 years old. I decided to go back to get my Masters in Elementary Education. During this time I began nannying due to a conflict of schedule. I was a nanny for the same family for almost 5 years and still keep in touch with them, but now only occasionally. I helped plan educational excursions , take them to their classes, and maintained their space. My most recent opportunity was with a family with 3 children; 4 months, 5, and 7. I homeschooled the older children and cared for the infant. I traveled with them to Arizona during the winter months as well. I have worked with children from all different backgrounds, ages and experiences and am always open and receptive to positive or negative feedback. I am still and always will be learning. :)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/30/16

Ratings & reviews

Nadia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$28-$50/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Elementary Education

Graduated DePaul University 2019

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Sign Language

Share Nadia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now