Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 52
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60616

Meet Linda

  • Comfortable with pets

I am the fourth child of five. My favorite memories of growing up were playing various types of games with my siblings and neighborhood friends and going to the museums and zoos with my family. I like to do these same things with the children I take care of. I had been an Administrative Assistant for 20 plus years prior to being laid-off in September of 2009. I decided a career change was in order. I have always loved working with children, so a nanny position was the perfect career for me. I have been a professional Nanny since 2010. While I have six years of nanny experience, I have thirteen plus years total child care experience. I love teaching the children and believe that there are so many ways to teach a child and so many experiences they can learn from. I take the children on the bus and Read more "L" trains. I teach them what stops we get off at to go to each of our activities (i.e. the zoo, parks, etc) .This helps them to learn the city. I like to empower the children by having them make decisions, which promotes independence. Having fun and lots of laughter fill our days is a must. I encourage the children to do what they love to do, whether it be art, music, language, etc. Shaping a child's life and helping them to be a productive, well rounded individual is important. I love watching the children's personalities develop. I love educational activities and teaching. I believe in early childhood development: music; reading; educational toys/games; and online websites, such as Sesame Street,, and YouTube. One of my favorite sites posts YouTube videos of their crafts and class room songs that I learn and then teach them to the child/children. While there are some good educational programs on television now, I prefer not to have the child/children watch tv. I know some basic Spanish and have taught one child I worked with what I know, and we learned more as we went along by using a translator app. If I don’t know the answer to something the child/children want to know we look it up and talk about it. For example: one child asked about the clouds and we looked up the different types of clouds; another child asked about the American flag, and the moon and stars. The well-being of the child/children is above all what is important. CPR certified and first aid training. I currently live in the suburbs, but plan on moving back to the city this Fall.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/30/17

Ratings & reviews

Linda doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$17/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Cancer
    • Premature Newborn
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Business Administration

Graduated Moraine Valley Community College


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Linda's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now