Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60626

Meet Erika

  • Comfortable with pets

Hello parents! I have been a babysitter for 10 years and have experience in caring for children ages 8 months to 12 years old. I have 9 credit hours in early-childhood education and have taken courses in child development, child psychology, and creative activity planning for children. I provide families with care for occasions such as date nights, errands running, weddings, and more! I also offer assistance with household tasks such as meal preparation, errands running, housekeeping, pet care, and laundry management. I am willing to help with birthday parties, and other events. I am comfortable with caring for multiples as well as children with special needs. Whether you need a night out or an extra pair of hands, I am here to help!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings and afternoons

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/25/18

Ratings & reviews

4.9 4.9 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

7

1

0

0

0

Joanna H.

5/27/2019

Erika cared for our two daughters, now ages 7 and 10, for about two and a half years. She picked the children up at school throughout the week, and kept them engaged between then and dinner time. This would typically involve playground visits, taking them to swim class, library visits, or various crafts. During the summer, she also cared for them longer hours, focusing on museum visits and various outdoor activities, and getting things organized as planned activities came up. Erika is incredibly patient with children, and they loved having her care for them. She made them nutritious, delicious meals and helped them keep their room tidy and finish homework. Her background in education was of great benefit and allowed her to understand my younger daughter who has a learning disability. She did a fantastic job of communicating about how each day went with the children. Since Erika's schedule changed and she couldn't commit to the same hours, we called her back to babysit a couple of times - and the children always get excited when they have the chance to see her again! We highly recommend Erika.

Tricia C.

7/16/2018

Our girls enjoyed their day with Erika. She was pleasant upon arrival and listened attentively while I told her about our daughters and the day ahead. She was patient despite my youngest being a little grumpy. She checked in with me throughout the day as well, which was appreciated!

Sarah B.

1/3/2016

We are so grateful for Erika! Our son always looks forward to her visits. You can count on Erika to be on time and quick with communication. She has a gentle, nurturing manner and is happy to follow our child's interests----drawing, reading, playing catch etc.

Amy W.

1/23/2014

My children love Erika! She is very engaging and interacts well with children. I was very impressed with how well Erika kept my kids following the rules.

Pamela T.

8/27/2012

Erika is an excellent sitter. She engages my daughter with fun art projects, imaginative play and is wonderful at managing her mornings. She is reliable, punctual and trustworthy and my daughter loves her company.

Sarah G.

8/6/2012

Erika has been a great nanny for my girls this summer. She was proactive at planning activities with them, and the girls loved her. She was also very good at keeping me aware if there were issues or concerns. She also willingly helped out with household chores.

Christina L.

2/21/2011

Erika has been babysitting for me for more than 6 months and she is fabulous. My kids truly look forward to the nights when "Ms Erika" comes over. She is incredibly dependable and adaptable to any changes in plans or schedule. She handles the initial seperation anxiety my daughter always has like a pro. I never worry when I'm gone because I know they are in great hands when she's with them.

Arlene D.

2/17/2011

Erika has been working with my family now for almost 6 months and we are very excited to have her with us. Erika is extremely dedicated to her job and the kids adore her. Erika makes sure the kids are active and busy after school and makes the time fun. Erika is able to handle conflicts with the children very well and communicates effectively with the parents. Erika is dependable and extremely dedicated to her job.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Diabetes
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Insulin Injections
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Studio Art with an emphasis in K-12 Art Education

Northeastern Illinois University 2014

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Erika's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now